My Reviews (39)

Chocolate Marshmallow Bars

This recipe makes delicious and decadent bars with a biscuity base and a top layer made up of rice bubbles, peanut butter and marshmallows.
Reviews (39)


13 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: SHIMMERCHK
I have been making these bars for quite a few years and they are always a huge hit because they are so different from a standard brownie cookie. For those who think the layers do not go together, please note that after these have refrigerated thoroughly to set up, let the bars come to room temperature before eating. The top chocolate layer should soften slightly to the touch. These are very rich, but they will melt in your mouth. Every time I have made them I am asked for the recipe. I have had more success by baking these in a standard 13 x 9 pan instead of using a jelly roll. This is because the bottom cake layer yields a small amount and will be very thin in the jelly roll pan, and too easy to over bake. Be sure NOT to over bake the cake layer, remove before the edges become too crisp. To make this easier and for a smoother middle layer, use a jar of marshmallow creme instead of regular marshmallows. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: TERESA_C
these are EXCELLENT. I followed the recipe to the letter, except I used a 13x9" pan. this made the layers even so the bars were really pretty when cut. I did have to bake the cake layer about 5 minutes longer than specified. Also, if you keep the bars in the oven the full 3 minutes to soften the mini marshmallows, it is no problem to spread them. It doesn't have to be perfectly smooth, either, so don't worry about how it looks, because when you spread on the choc/pb layer it covers up any imperfections. It takes quite awhile for the bars to set up in the fridge but once they are firm they cut into beautiful squares. this recipe is fairly time consuming but worth the extra effort. I was able to get 48 1" (approx)squares from the recipe using a 13x9" pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2003
Reviewed by: STEPHSHIVE
These are so great! This is our favorite dessert in my house! I wish I would have found this recipe sooner! I can get closer to 36 servings out of this, too, since they are a bit rich. Store and serve right from the fridge. If left at room temp, they get a bit gooey and are not as pretty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: EOR112
I took these to work and everyone loved them. I used a 13X9 pan as well and cooked it for 20min. They were delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: MISSYME719
This recipe was simply mediocre. The layers did not seem to go together (the chewy so called "cookie crust" and the marshmallow texture did not blend well at all) and the peanut butter was unexpectedly overpowering. Making this recipe was a wasste of my time. Nobody even wanted to try them. I will not be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: Abbey
What a blast from the past. My grandma used to make these for us all the time, we call them "Zach bars" in my family because they were my brother's favorite. These are so delicious. I used a 9x13 pan, the topping was a little scant, I had to spread it pretty thin, can't imagine it could possibly cover a whole jelly roll pan. Nonetheless, amazing. Thank you Sandra for sharing this, can't believe I found the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: jlkobilis
This was a great recipe... but I did change it up alittle. I added marshmallows to the peanut butter topping and i did not use chocolate inthe top layer. Turned out amazing... i am making them again tonight! The last time they only lasted 2 days! (i used a 13x9 cake pan) and had to leave the bottom layer in about 10 minutes longer.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Mrs. Forsman
Very tastey, the only thing I changed was instead of using peanut butter for the topping I used almond butter because of my hubby's peanut allergy. If not I think it would have spread alot easier, and would have looked so much more appealing. Feeds a large crowd, and tastes good. A keeper in my book!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: gmd393
When making this recipe I didn't have much hope. I thought it was a flop. However, I'm glad I kept with it. This recipe is very good. The layers fit together quite well after being in the fridge. I did bake it in a 9x13 and used large marshmallows. I did have to bake it for longer, andjust used a toothpick to make sure it was done.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Judy E
These were a combination of everything I love! I did double the amound of rice krispies and left the amount of peanut butter and chocolat chips the same. Thanks for a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes