My Reviews (89)

Hot Chilli Con Carne

This a particularly spicy chilli, so you might want to adjust the quantity of chilli powder to your own taste. Eat with lettuce and tortillas.
Reviews (89)


03 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: LYSS710
Awesome chili recipe - DH would eat this every night! I make it in the slow cooker & it works just fine (I cook & drain the beef first, but that's it). I've made this many times for groups, and it always disappears. It's a great all-around not-too-spicy but not-too-bland chili. If you want more heat, add some cayenne pepper or some diced pickled jalapenos. Or just use hot salsa and hot taco sauce. I've done several substitutions with this recipe and it's turned out well as well. I've subbed several different kinds of beans, I've subbed a can of green chiles for the red pepper, and I've subbed tomato sauce for the spaghetti sauce. All have turned out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: Laura Murray
For years my mother has made the same old chili. After I made this chili for her, she wanted the recipe and says she'll never go back to her old recipe! Spicy and easy to make!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: JDAVIS3
Once again I entered this recipe in my companies Chili cook off and took 1st place for the 3rd year in a row. I am always asked for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2003
Reviewed by: NJSS2000
This is a great chili recipe. I had to add about 1 cup water to get the right consistency for my family. Will be using this recipe many more times in the future. Absolutely fabulous.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Schnozz
This chili is the perfect level of spicy for most palates if you use medium salsa and medium taco sauce. Tobasco or other seasoning can be added to individual servings for those who like it even hotter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: Pooh101
Great recipe. Made a few adjustments to suit my family's taste. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef and I only added 2 TBSP of chili powder rather than 3. We had my father-in-law over for dinner and I wasn't sure how spicy he liked his food. I thought it was the perfect amount. Cooked in slow cooker on high for 5 hours. Simple recipe that was delicious. Perfect dinner for a snowy night. Will definately make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: larry hutnik
this recipe is excellent, and almost exactly my recipe however I add a can of quebec maple beans and a slice of cooked crumbled bacon to the recipe. I use chili powder and just a teaspoon of hot chili flakes. More chili flakes can be added later if someone prefers their chili hot! I leave it in the slow cooker all day on low. It is even better the next day! larry from toronto
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: KERLSEEF
It's a cool -27 degrees here today (not even exaggerating) and what better than that perfect chili. Found this recipe and wow! My husband and I loved it! Will make again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2002
Reviewed by: FDMILLE
Very tasty chili! All of my family and friends liked it. I used a larger can of tomatoes (28 oz) and it was still very good. Add or remove ingredients, as you like. I'm sure that I will make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: KARYN821
This is really good chili...I added tabasco because I like it hotter! I got raves from my guests...will definitely make again and again...thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes