My Reviews (13)

Easy Chocolate Cake with Cream Cheese Icing

This easy recipe makes a very rich chocolate cake with a nutty cream cheese icing. Perfect for Valentine's Day or Mother's Day.
Reviews (13)


21 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: angela
I have made many cakes from scratch and this is the worst cake I have ever tasted. The cream cheese icing does not go well with the chocolate cake. The cake tasted strange. Maybe because it calls for baking soda then vinegar. It fizzed after adding the vinegar. I do not recommend making this cake. I did not taste good. I followed the directions exactly as listed. Please don't this cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: LUX
The kids just love this recipe!!! And I just love to make it!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: KELABELE
only used half of the oil required. turned out fine. frosting does not cover cake, so i mixed it with a jar of cream cheese-flavored frosting from the store and it turned out great
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: ILEAN811
Nice, rich cake, and frosting is not too sweet, which was great. Added chocolate chips and chopped walnuts to the frosting and gave it some texture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: apark
The cake was moist & delicious! Like one user already said, the frosting recipe wasn't quite enough, but was still great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2003
Reviewed by: Cookielover
I thought this recipe was GREAT!! I loved it alot and so did my family... it wasn't hard to make at all and I will continue making it for parties and such... I made this recipe when we went to visit my family in cleveland and it was gone in a day!! thanks ALOT!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Trishy
I made an American flag version of this cake for a 4th of July BBQ (using strawberries and blueberries), and it was a huuuge hit. Everyone raved that it was delicious without being too rich or too sweet. It was also very easy to prepare.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: ZAVA
took this to a birthing class as my potluck dish...it was gobbled up by all the pregnant people and their partners. rich, moist, delicious! i did opt for a different icing without the raw egg though...still a five star.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: frenchfrye20
I think it was a SPECTACULAR cake!!! but i think feel it goes better if you put the chocolate chips inside the cake insted of in the icing. And its not really a cheese cake its just more of a chocolate cake with amazing cream cheese frosting
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Farrierswife
The cake was yummy layered with the cream cheese filling that I found in another recipe. The cake wasn't really cake like, more dense. If I was set on a cakey cake I would have been disappointed but what it turnned out to be was good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes