My Reviews (67)

Fried Tilapia with Mango Salsa

Tilapia or other white fish goes very well with mango for a tropical flavour. This goes well with salad greens or rice.
Reviews (67)


07 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: AUSSIEMUM1
The salsa is TOO SALTY!!!! It totally killed it. Anyone who knows their way around a kitchen, knows that once you add salt, it's a bit difficult to fix if it's too salty. Follow my advice - add half the salt, stir and taste and do it at the end of making the salsa. I added fresh mint to the salsa and the sweetness of this did help the taste.(But not enough, sorry. My kids who love mango rated this 2 1/2 *. I had two mangoes, lots of fish and doubled the recipe. I also dipped the fish in flour after rubbing with curry rub and this made a nice, curry, crunchy coating on the outside and the rub was worth 3 1/2*. Overall, I'd try the rub again, but the salsa was salt overkill.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2008
Reviewed by: sweetee_pie
Have used this recipe a few times and my husband loves the results. I have substituted the fresh mangoes for frozen ones which I thawed and have been using them since. I find the frozen ones sweeter than the fresh ones. Not the right season for the fresh mangoes here. We will definitely make this dish again. We did not make modifications to the receipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Sharon
OMG this recipe was awesome. My first time for making Tilapia - although I order it out quite a bit! So easy..and the flavors were great. I added some cucumber to the mango salsa....This will become one of my favorites!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: MsSaturdayNight
I actually omitted the salt because I forgot it--good thing too, the salsa doesn't need it at all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: angie
I had never made or eaten tilapia before using this recipe, and I must say this is one of the best dishes I have ever eaten. I didn't use the whole chile just because it was very very spicy, but otherwise everything else was absolutely delicious. The mango definetly compliments the fish. Very easy and simple recipe to use.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Beth
Delicious! We only made the curried tilapia (I didn't have a mango on hand but was looking for a new way of cooking tilapia). It was great - nice and spicy. I had no idea what garlic pepper was so looked up a recipe for it and made it myself. (Combine 1 TBS garlic powder, 1/2 TBS of pepper and 1 TBS of parsley) I loved how quick and easy the recipe was. We will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Zerazenthra
This is a very tasty "healthy" choice for anyone trying to eat better foods. My entire family enjoyed the flavors including my 10 and 2 year old daughters. Just a note: if you are a food processer user, don't. The salsa is much prettier if it is hand chopped. Then, you can clearly see all the colors!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: MrsTNM
I gave it a four but I'm thinking it has something to do with the situation I was in and not the recipe. So, I made this wonderfully beautiful presentation of a dinner with all of the promise that the ingredients list gives you and then we had to wait almost 30 minutes to eat because the cable guy was here. By the time we ate it, the fish was lukewarm. I can't wait to make it again (sans the cable guy) and eat it at the peak of flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Amber Rodriguez
LOVED IT! The mango salsa was the best! I added half a red onion and it was so yummy! My 5 year old son wasn't too fond of the spices, BUT... he'll grow into it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Cooking Kitty
This was wonderful! Just the rub alone was great. My mango wasnt as soft as Id like it to be so just make sure your mango is ripe enough. I was also worried about the serrano chile bec Ive never had one b4 and it wasnt that hot. I also didnt add the onion bec I dont like raw onions but this was soo good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes