My Reviews (14)

Spicy Molasses Biscuits

These biscuits are an unusual and delicious combination of spices, molasses and chocolate chips. They are even better after a couple of days.
Reviews (14)


29 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: Mareejoyce
Awful - I think the recipe should be 1/4 cup molasses - not 1 cup. Mine came out the colour of dark chocolate, not pale brown like the photo. Also, the ground cloves was omitted from the Directions.
 
05 May 2001
Reviewed by: LAURE2
The chocolate chips are a tasty surprise in this molasses cookie. Real easy to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: MIRIJAM
I was apprehensive about the ingredients in this recipe. No egg for one, lots of molasses, and the looks were not that appealing as I was mixing up the dough. Glad that I made it as it is very good, very easy, and has a wonderful flavor. Thanks for sharing! I will be making this again and again. My husband thanks you also.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: REBEKAH39
I know where the name came from. My children turned into crybabies when they ate them all! Had to make some more! Thanks! :-)))))
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: KIMI1
This recipe is great! My sister and I made it and were a little skeptical about using so much molasses and choc chips, but were pleasantly surprised. To make them a little healthier, we make them with whole wheat flour and 'I can't believe it's not butter-light' tub vs. stick butter. We also use black strap molasses.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: The Lone Baker
You know, I was really surprised by the combination of ingredients as opposed to how good these tasted. I read the reviews and they sounded like a winner, but I started making them and said "Oh, is this right? Chocolate chips? Hmmm..." But they turned out great. Almost like mini spice cakes w/ chocolate. The only advice I'd give is: Don't attempt to double-batch them in a standard Kitchen-Aid mixer. (My cup runneth over!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: sarahkhas
I thought these were an excellent flavor, i loved em, the combination of everything was great, got a few mixed reviews from others though. one thing, they turned out puffy and cake-like, possibly due to no egg??? wasn't a huge fan of the puffiness, overall a great cookie, recommended.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: SHERILYNKIM
This is a keeper. I was looking for a recipe that called for a lot of molasses since I had a lot to use up and was happy to find this, especially when I realized that it didn't call for eggs because I didn't have any. I also didn't have any ground ginger so I used juice from fresh ginger. I also only used 3 cups of chocolate chips. The family loved it, even my husband who rarely wants any cookie unless it is a chocolate chip cookie. He said that if he had had a glass of milk (which we were out of) he would hardly have noticed it wasn't a regular chocolate chip cookie. I loved having something different for a change, so it was a win-win.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Nov 2007
Very rich cookies ,i should agree with the others who say they don't look promising at all during preps, but a pleasant surprise once baked. I actually liked them; my husband who doesn't appreciate very mixed flavors didn't ..So i guess that's about what you're looking for .Thanks for sharing the recipe .
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2004
Reviewed by: cmartcookie
When I copied this recipe, there was only 1 review. No eggs?? I couldn't believe it. I figured they'd run off the cookie sheet without at least 1 egg, so I added an egg. FOUR cups of chocolate chips?? Seemed like a lot. So I added some oatmeal to take up some of the space. Now I see there are 5 reviews and others survived without adding any egg. The batch I made also came out puffy, but at least they didn't run into each other on the cookie sheet. I'm waiting for someone else to taste them, though. I am having a hard time getting past the anticipation of the mixture of molasses and chocolate flavors, but wanted to try a new cookie recipe to add to my collection. I'm pretty sure the cookie monsters in this house will like them, though!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes