My Reviews (16)

Crispy Chicken Baked with Mozzarella

This is a delightful way to prepare chicken, especially if you have fresh ingredients. If you can't find chicken tenders (fingers) cut ordinary chicken breasts in half lengthways.
Reviews (16)


20 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: PMJNSTN
I submitted this recipe, and after reading one review about being poorly written, I must agree. I do start the sauce first and let it simmer while I am frying the chicken tenderloins. This allows it to all finish at the same time, and can go into the oven for the final melting of the cheese. You may of course, spice it up with other herbs in the sauce, but I really enjoy the flavor of fresh basil, and keeping it simple. Hope this helps! PMJNSTN
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: bellepepper
Made this for the Recipe Group and we enjoyed it. I do, however, think the recipe is poorly written and sort of backwards. Here’s the way I did it. I breaded my chicken ahead of time and didn’t use nearly the amount of flour indicated in the recipe, covered and refrigerated it until dinner time. I made the sauce before I cooked the chicken, and as I suspected, the tomatoes really cook down to almost nothing. I had to add some Prego to “stretch” it a bit. I didn’t add the basil until just before serving so it’s flavor wouldn’t diminish. I kept the sauce warm while I cooked the chicken. After the chicken was cooked I left it in the skillet, topped each with the mozzarella and covered it with a lid just until the cheese was nicely melted. I skipped the oven part altogether. This was good. We thought the chicken/panko could be improved with some additional spices, maybe some Italian seasoning, and the addition of some parmesan cheese might have been good. The sauce needs some work. We thought my addition of Prego actually improved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Marianne
We had this tonight for dinner and even have leftovers for a sandwich tomorrow. We felt this could have used a little more in the flavor department--like adding some herbs to the sauce mixture. It probably could have used only one tablespoon of oil for the sauce because the onions give off liquid. And it could have used something to hold all the sauce together more (maybe some Italian bread crumbs?). Mine did not look like the photos. I think if I were to make it again I would not bread the chicken at all. All those ingredients (flour and panko) kind of rejected the flavors of the sauce and didn't let it show off what could have been! This has possibililties, so I will try it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: jennkl
We enjoyed this. Hubby referred to it as "fancy chicken parm". Following the directions exactly I think it had the right amount of kick from the cayenne. I'm not sure how the panko really fit in. I think an italian seasoned bread crumb would have suited it a little better but that is what makes this recipe unique. Thanks for a great meal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Bobbi123
This was pretty good. I also started with the sauce first so the flavours would have more time to meld together. It turned out pretty tasty, but I would have liked more sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Roxanne J.R.
This was just okay for me. I used italian seasoned crumbs instead of plain and added some spaghetti sauce to the tomato mixture cause it really didn't seem to have much to top the chicken with by itself. I also mixed in some cheddar cheese cause I like that cheese better. Overall it was a good dish but not something I'd make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: tuck249
The chicken itself turned out phenomenal, but the recipe could use a little tweaking on bake/cook times. Still, absolutely fantastic stuff, I don't know anyone who wouldn't enjoy this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: tierer
most spectacular thing I have ever tasted!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: cgm
This is mediocre. It was good, but not remarkable.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: BigShotsMom
This was the selection for Recipe Group 10/7. I followed the recipe fairly closely but I used pounded chicken cutlets instead of the tenders and I doubled the sauce. The cooking times seemed off to me but that may have been because of my changes. I let the sauce cook for almost an hour so it wasn't so watery. My tomatoes were extremely sweet so it had good flavor but the chicken could have used a bit more flavor. No one complained, but I didn't get any raves either. Thanks for sharing, PMJNSTN.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes