My Reviews (18)

Minty Choc Chip Biscuits

Creme de menthe liqueur tints these biscuits a light green and adds a pleasing minty taste. And adult version of choc chip biscuits!
Reviews (18)


29 May 2001
Reviewed by: KIMAR
From the submitter's comment, I expected the cookies to be obviously green, but they looked like regular chocolate chip cookies. The green color was almost imperceptible, as was the creme de menthe flavoring in the baked cookie dough. The only noticeable mint flavor came from the chips themselves. Although they were good, next time I'll just add mint chocolate chips to a standard chocolate chip cookie recipe and save my creme de menthe. I bought a bottle especially for this recipe and essentially wasted my money as neither the color nor the flavor came through in the cookies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: naples34102
Not the best looking cookie, but they sure are good. Kind of refreshing, actually, like an after dinner mint. I guess I wasn’t too good at following directions because I mistakenly interpreted the chips called for as mint chips (green) not mint CHOCOLATE chips (brown). But it was a happy mistake, because they were delicious. The crème de menthe lends just the right amount of mint flavor to the cookie but it also lends a not particularly attractive color, which is sort of a greenish-brown. Deceptive, because they’re surprisingly good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: GREATCOOKREP
I wanted a different cookie and thought this sounded good so I tried it. I had to improvise because I only had regular chocolate chips but they turned out great. I did get way more than 2 and a half dozen but the more the better. The mint flavor is a nice twist to chocolate chip cookies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: LTTLETWINSTAR
I added a bit more Creme de Menthe than what was asked and I replaced the mint chocolate chips with Andes Chocolates which really made the mint flavor stand out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: MELLYISJOY
Second time I have made these. I like them a lot. The mint taste comes largely from the chips but still yummy. I think the amount of time is wrong...they are too soft at 10 minutes...barely able to remove them from cookie sheet. Try 20 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: thedailygourmet
These were an interesting cookie. As evident by the picture I took of these cookies I had no problem w/ the cookies turning a green colour. Having said that I think it needs to be pointed out that you can get creme de menthe liqueur in either clear or green. I expected that the cookies would have an intensely mint taste but that didn't happen. For those that state they need to be baked longer, no they don't. The cookies will continue to cook after you remove the cookies from the oven. Good cookie, and perfect for St Patricks day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: KBots
I really wanted to make these but didn't have the creme de menthe, so I used creme de cacao instead (you can never have too much chocolate!). I doubled the liquer, reduced the white sugar by 1/4 cup, and doubled the baking soda and added 2 tablespoons (yes, tablespoons) of vanilla. YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: K. Muncie
Fantastic recipe! I am adicted!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: Leti Avila Lesseuer
I doubled recipe and used 1 cup butter w 1 cup Blue Bonnet. Silky soft and fluffy cookie! Also, wasn't able to find mint chips; chunk chopped Andes Mints~ YUM!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: matth9
The cookies turned out great! The cook time of 10 minutes, plus a 5 minute rest on the cookie sheet was perfect. I did modify the recipe... couldn't find mint chocolate chips, so I used regular semi-sweet chocolate chips and used 5 Tbsp of Creme de Menth instead of 2.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes