My Reviews (39)

Jeera Indian Rice

In India, jeera is the word for cumin. This Indian fried rice is fragrant and delicious and makes a perfect side dish for any curry or Indian main.
Reviews (39)


08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: pamjlee
I was taught how to make this rice by a Pakistani friend of mine. She used Basmati rice, whole cloves and added frozen peas for colour. The aroma while the rice is cooking is fabulous - almost unbearable! She served it with okra that was stewed with tomatoes and we ate by scooping it up with warm pitabread. It was my first hands - on experience of authentic pakistani cooking, and I have since gotten 'the bug' and continue similar types of cooking adventures. I will always think of my friend when I prepare this rice - thank you Uzma!
 
21 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: LSC
I made this with brown rice, it was nice, but only as a side dish, not as a main meal. There wasn't enough flavour to have it on its own.
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
Kathleen said:
Made it healthier. This rice was incredible!!! I absolutely loved it. I made it with brown rice and it had the best taste.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: ANNAMARYH
Very easy and delicious rice, even without the cumin seeds (I used ground instead). Very fragrant. Next time I will try basmati rice for a completely authentic touch.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: outnumbered
Very nice and simple.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: amandad
I recently served this recipe with prawns and fresh sliced tomatoes. We loved it. It is very aromatic and a wonderful blend of flavours.
 
12 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: CHRISOFORA
I was taught how to make this rice by a Pakistani friend of mine. She used Basmati rice, whole cloves, and added frozen peas for color. It was the first time I had ever seen anyone fry raw rice! The aroma while the rice is cooking is fabulous - almost unbearable! She served it with okra that was stewed with tomatoes and we ate by scooping it up with warm pita bread using only our left hands. It was my first hands - on experience of authentic ethnic cooking, and I have since gotten 'the bug' and continue similar types of cooking adventures. I will always think of my friend when I prepare this rice - thank you Uzma!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: CASSORIGINAL
Very easy and delicious rice, even without the cumin seeds (I used ground instead). Very fragrant. Next time I will try basmati rice for a completely authentic touch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Jennifer J
Very nice and simple.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: TINA
This rice was incredible!!! I absolutely loved it. I made it with brown rice and 3 c. of water. It had the best taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes