My Reviews (38)

Sage Butter Pasta Sauce

A really simple and tasty pasta sauce with the sage butter flavours. Serve it with any pasta you like including gnocchi.
Reviews (38)


06 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: favrelvr04
Sage leaves should be chopped prior to adding to the butter. If you review this recipe but make your own changes to it, such as adding flour, please note you are not reviewing the recipe posted, you're reviewing your own version of it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: cookiemonstr66
loved this recipe,I added flour to the butter at start for a rue to thicken it and used it over biscuits with crumbled sausage and eggs on them for breakfast.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Mary J.
After reading the reviews, I added flour to the butter mixture right off the bat. About 1 1/2 tbsp. Stirred it well and cooked it slightly before adding the broth first slowly, then the crem slowly. The flavor of the sage leaves was wonderful. I added just a dash more of dried sage. Served it over chicken cordon bleu. Gave it a rich taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Sage Jessica Hamel
I served this over acorn squash gnocci. Delicious! I used half the butter and started with a rue for extra creamy thickness. Also added fresh parm at the end. I will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: nairie
Modifications: + Used Parmesan cheese and doubled the chicken broth as I didn't have heavy cream (as suggested in another review) + Used my spice and nut grinder to mince the sage leaves instead of chopping + Added a dash of flour to thicken the sauce. Review: I thought it was a good sage based sauce but a little on the buttery side for me. Will make again, but with less butter next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: epicurious
this simple sauce has such a wonderful delicate flavor. made a couple times now and it's been a real crowd pleaser every time. i didn't realize what a great flavor fresh sage has! tossed it with angel hair baby peas and sauteed mushrooms with a sprinkle of parm at he end. make sure you just barely undercook your pasta by a minute then it will finish cooking once you add the hot sauce, absorb the liquid in the sauce and thicken it. i wouldn't add a thickener unless you are looking for a pasta-roni effect. ew. recipe is wonderful as is i think it's really just as good with half and half and 1/2 a stick of butter but it IS sage butter sauce and not a diet food so who cares. thank you for this recipe it's going to be a favorite for us.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: JAKESMOM
It has a great flavor but adding the flour makes it like gravy over pasta. not that i dont love my gravy....... but its no sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Heidi Santos
I used the pan drippings from a whole baked chicken instead of broth, added a little less butter, used some flour to thicken, added milk since I didn't have cream. (will try next time) put the leftover chicken into sauce, to have another meal (over biscuits!) so easy, and a nice change from gravy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: bubbleteaisyum
Not too bad, and simple to make. Ladled the sauce over rotini pasta, added flour like the previous reader suggested to thicken, and added just a little curry spice and sugar in the raw to complement the subtle sage.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Denise
This Sauce is so easy! The flavor is perfect for any pasta! I did add flour as a reviewer suggested to help thicken just a bit. I did not have chicken broth in the cabinet so I used a couple vegetable bouillons to 1/2 cup of water and it was beautiful! I added red pepper flakes with garlic powder. When using for salmon I added a couple drops of lemon juice. This sauce is versatile for anything your taste buds want to add! My favorite sauce!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes