My Reviews (34)

Chicken Breasts in Mustard and Tarragon Sauce

Makes a chicken breast weeknight meal that tastes great and that you could easily serve to guests. It's all in the sauce!
Reviews (34)


27 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: naples34102
No "ifs, ands or buts" about it - this is absolutely a beautiful, 5-star perfect dish and frankly, I'm surprised more people haven't discovered it. I added some garlic along with the onion and doubled up on the sauce but I didn't and wouldn't alter anything else about this recipe at all. Why mess with perfection? Everything is right with this recipe from the ingredients, to the instructions for its preparation, to the cooking time. And it is just SO delicious! The chicken is moist and tender and the sauce rich and velvety smooth, with well chosen ingredients that all combine into something simply sublime - how can you go wrong with a sauce made pf chicken broth,wine, Dijon, sour cream and tarragon? Hubs and I were really impressed - but more important, we thoroughly enjoyed every bite.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: mrsmiz
I will make this again. I do think that pounding the chicken breasts flat and adding mushrooms would be good improvements, but, as-is, the recipe is a keeper. FYI, I made the same amount of sauce for half the amount of chicken, and I am glad I did.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: BAJATHECAT
This recipe is wonderful. The marriage of dijon and tarragon is rich, yet not overwhelming. As other reviewers suggested, I added mushrooms. Great for texture and additional flavor. One caution, the sauce reduces very quickly - next time I will double the sauce ingredients and increase the amount of sour cream. Served this over homemade egg noodles. My guests had many compliments. This is a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Sara
This recipe was a hit at our house. Next time I will add mushrooms for texture. I served it with cous cous and steamed broccoli. There is enough sauce to dress up the broccoli even for veggie haters to enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Jjrobertsn
This is great, it reminded me of sitting in French Bistro and enjoying a similar dish. Home Run.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Val
I thought this was just OK. The chicken was very juicy and tender, I flattened the breasts out a bit with a mallet because they were really thick. The sauce was very easy, but didn't taste as good as I had hoped. I don't think the combination of tarragon and mustard worked too well, I might try it again with some mushrooms and without the mustard.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Beverly Harris
I have not tried this yet, but I love tarragon with chicken. And I noticed this is a fairly healthy recipe. I wish all recipes would post more healthy recipes, some that come across here are to high in sodium, cholesterol and fats.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Mike Merlo
Super easy. Super delicious. Will be making this again for sure! Tip: Be sure to not fry your chicken in a nonstick pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: charliesmamma
Great! Simple and easy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Lori Green
Finally! A good REAL recipe with no "cream of" anything soup! Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes