My Reviews (176)

Ginger Chicken Soup with Egg Noodles

A traditional chicken noodle soup with the subtle notes of fresh ginger. It is made from a base of prepared stock, diced celery, carrots and freshly ground pepper.
Reviews (176)


Comment:
08 Oct 2008
christina said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I also added some things to this... I put some fresh rosemary and some ginger slices in a tea infuser and hung that in the pot as well. I also added three whole cloves of garlic, a small onion, some salt, and extra chicken to this. It turned out wonderful!
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
marta said:
Something else. I am the author of this recipe. Just wanted to share with you my tweaked version. *2 litres of Organic chicken stock, A bag of mini carrots - I leave them as is, 1 large potato - chopped, 3 stalks of celery - chopped, 8 frozen chicken breasts - cubed, 1 Tbs extra virgin olive oil, fresh ginger, garlic or green onions. Let soup come to the boil and then add noodles. The longer it cooks, the better it tastes!
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
ANNIEBOB2 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This was great. I read all of the reviews and took a lot of the advice. I boiled my chicken with garlic & ginger and then used that water as my stock. I added salt, pepper, stock cubes and some coriander for flavour. I used more chicken and noodles than the recipe called for because we like a hearty soup! It was a hit! Thanks!
 
24 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: rookie888
yummy and quick use of leftover roast chicken. Ginger and pepper together give this otherwise standard chicken soup a bit of zing. thanks!
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
Used different ingredients. I made this for my boyfriend when he was sick and took it over to his house and he and his 2 roomates had seconds (the one roomate came up from downstairs to see what smelled so good)!!! I did revise this a bit...I started by boiling a whole small chicken in water w/the chopped ginger. While it boiled, I let the stock, water, veggies and spices simmer...I added rosemary, minced garlic, basil, a lot of parsley...it would have been REALLY bland w/o it. I took the advice of another user and proceeded to add some of the water from my boiled chicken/ginger to the mix (my boyfriend likes extra stock for his crackers) and extra noodles. I will for sure make this again...!!!
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: MAGGIE MCGUIRE
Very good, simple, chicken noodle soup. I prefer soups with something different, but hubby likes traditional and this hit the spot.
 
08 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: Jeankat
I am the author of this recipe. Just wanted to share with you my tweaked version. *Two 32 fl oz (2 quarts) of Organic chicken broth A bag of mini carrots - I leave them as is 1 large potato - chopped 3 stalks of celery - chopped 8 frozen chicken tenderloins (I like Tyson), cubed 1 Tbs extra virgin olive oil fresh ginger, garlic or scallion Mrs. Reame's frozen pre-cooked egg noodles or dumplings salt pepper Dutch oven* In dutch oven, add broth and let it come to a boil. Add veggies and pepper. In a separate skillet, add oil, ginger (or garlic or scallions), and salt to sautee. When chicken is cooked, add to the broth. Let broth come to a boil and add noodles. The longer it cooks, the better it tastes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: ADZELL
I made this for my boyfriend when he was sick and took it over to his house and he and his 2 roomates had seconds (the one roomate came up from downstairs to see what smelled so good)!!! I did revise this a bit...I started by boiling a cornish hen in water w/the chopped up ginger root. While it boiled, I let the broth, water, veggies and spices simmer...I added rosemary,minced garlic, basil, alot of parsley and a touch of onion powder...it would have been REALLY bland w/o it. I took the advice of another user and proceeded to add some of the water from my boiled chicken/ginger to the mix (my boyfriend likes extra broth for his crackers)and extra noodles. I will for sure make this again...!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: AZKARIN
This was great. I read all of the reviews and took a lot of the advice. I boiled my chicken with garlic & ginger and then used that water as my broth. I added salt, pepper, bouillon and some cilantro for flavor. I used more chicken and noodles than the recipe called for because we like a hearty soup! It was a hit! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: snackcracker
I also added some things to this... I put some fresh rosemary and some ginger slices in a tea infuser and hung that in the pot as well. I also added three whole cloves of garlic, a small onion, some salt, and extra chicken to this. It turned out wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes