My Reviews (550)

Almond Butter Ring Cake

This is a very easy recipe but it makes a pound cake with a delicious velvety texture. You can try lemon essence in it as well.
Reviews (550)


25 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: tobie
Made this cake this morning and just tried a piece; it turned out PERFECTLY! I followed all the ingredients in the recipe except I cut the sugar back to 2.5 cups and used regular flour so I removed 2 tablespoons flour for each cup of flour, for a total of 6 tablespoons. In 1990 I found an article on baking pound cakes and pull it out every time I bake one. If you have never read an article on this, I suggest going to a baking web site and see what they say because there are important steps to follow. If you don't feel like going through the trouble then at the very least follow these steps: Cream the butter & cream cheese 2 minutes. Slowly add sugar and cream butter/cream cheese/sugar for 7-10 minutes for a hand mixter and 5 minutes for a stand mixer; this is a VERY IMPORTANT STEP for this recipe because the air will make the cake rise. Stir in extract. Add flour and egg alternatively, beginning and ending with flour mixture; only mix enough to incorpate the flour and egg ... don't overmix. This is a new favorite!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
Fabulous pound cake that melts in your mouth! I love the flavor and moistness the cream cheese provides. I cut the recipe in half and used lemon extract vs. almond extract. I baked it in a 9x5 glass baking dish and it was perfect for strawberry shortcake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: KLaxman
I made this cake 3 different times this week. I love it! All three times I made it with confectioners sugar not granulated sugar. It turned out absolutely amazing, it is a heavy rich tasting cake. The first time I cooked it with 2 1/4 cups of sugar, in a bundt pan and used just vanilla, 1 TBSP plus 1 tsp. It was amazing topped with a dark chocolate ganache. The second time I used 2 1/2 cups of sugar, lemon extract in place of the almond and cooked in a bundt pan as well - it was amazing with a raspberry cream filling. The last time I used the recipe as is, baked in a large sheet 10 x 15 pan for 30 minutes. This cake I cooled overnight and then cut in half and stacked with a chocolate truffle filling then cut it into small petite fours with a poured chocolate fondant. MMMMMmmmmm! All I can say is this is my GO TO recipe for most of my specialty cakes from now on, I really like the cream cheese flavor and it is heavy and easy to work with cake for petite fours. I must say that I did enjoy it with the 3 cups of sugar, and did not find it too sweet, but I know that I can definitely adjust it depending on what the filling or icing will be to compensate for different flavors.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: maggipot
The taste of this cake is amazing, and fairly easy to make - it turned out very well at the first try and was rich and dense with just the right amount of cheesiness oozing through the buttery flavour. A true dense pound cake that's delicious even when eaten plain. In fact, I preferred it without frosting. I would recommend this to anyone! However I've given it 4 stars because 3 cups is just too much sugar - I used 2.5cups and it was still extremely sweet. For those who don't have a sweet-tooth, I would recommend a cut to 2 1/4 cups or even 2 cups of sugar. Also while the texture of the cake was perfect, it wasn't an even colour. This is usually rectified by ensuring the cheese and butter are creamed together at room temperature, but my cake was mildly splotchy even though I did so. However it's mild enough not to be a detrimental factor unless you're baking it for a event like a wedding where the aesthetics has to be 100% perfect. This cakes also works extremely well when used for heavy fondant and gum paste decorations (I did) as it's sturdy enough to withstand quite a bit of weight. Last note: if you're not familiar with or fond of almond extract, don't use it. I cut my almond extract down to 1/2 tsp but it was still very strong and the next time I bake this I would substitute the almond for more vanilla.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: lovestohost
When Grandma LTH requested Strawberry Shortcake for her 85th birthday cake, I was momentarily flummoxed (I prefer my cake sans fruit). I turned to resident culinary guru Naples for help and she steered me in the direction of this recipe and I'm so glad she did! I followed the recipe to a "T" (though I did bake in mini bundt pans, resulting in a decreased bake time...about 35 minutes) and the results were delicious! I knew they were going to rock when I couldn't stop stealing swipes of raw batter! I did not eat a strawberry topped cake, but I did enjoy the tidbits I leveled off to all for a smooth bottom. THANKS for a great recipe (and special thanks to Naples for pointing me in the right direction!)!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 May 2005
Reviewed by: Baricat
Excellent flavor and texture! Used 2-1/2 cups all purpose flour, and baked for only an hour and five minutes. I used all vanilla, replacing the almond extract with a tsp of vanilla, as my family is not fond of the taste imparted by almond extract. Super moist with a fine crumb. Also, used Splenda for half the sugar to make more diabetic-friendly. Served with pureed strawberries sweetened with more Splenda. No one could tell that it was a reduced-sugar recipe. The quintessential pound cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: Jill Artlip Lilly
I've spent many years making pound cakes, watching them being made and the best part, TASTING them. I have to say that this is the best pound cake I've ever tasted and is the best I've ever made. I left out the almond flavoring and put a total of 1 & 1/2 tbls. vanilla flavoring. I also added about 4 tbls. of Frangelica hazelnut liqueur. I've read the reviews and saw some complaints about the heavy texture. One thing I think some people may not know is that pound cakes, by nature, are heavy...thus the name. As well, it's next to impossible to get a pound cake exactly right without a stand mixer. Making a pound cake with even a hand mixer is tough. This cake had a marvelous texture. 45 minutes after it came out of the oven, I only had 1/2 of it left...my family scarfed it down! Thanks for the great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: NickiB
This cake is FANTASTIC!!! It has a wonderful flavor (not too sweet) and the texture of this cake is to die for. I like to add my own special touches to any recipe I use, so after spraying my pan, I sprinkled it with a cinnamon/surgar mixture and then sprinkled some over the top of the batter after I filled the pan. It gave the cake an almost 'crunchy' coating and the hint of cinnamon was was heavenly. I made this cake two days ago for a family gathering. Everyone in my family loves to cook and they always outdo themselves when it comes to our get-togethers. This cake was a HUGE hit, they all couldn't say enough about it and they all requested and left with the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: chibi chef
Way too much sugar!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: ariel_wd
delicious, I take a star off because I think it has too much fat
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes