My Reviews (66)

Chocolate Chip Cookies with Cream Cheese

In this chocolate chip cookie recipe cream cheese replaces the more traditional margarine or butter, making it a little healthier and with a cake-like texture.
Reviews (66)


01 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: Sy Chandell
Whereas this recipe would have passed for "healthier" 5 years ago, TransFat has been proven to be the unhealthy pseudo-fat that it is. Want healthy? Stick to the regular recipes, and downsize your intake! Don't use Margarine or regular shortening in your cooking! These cookies were flavorless, and my Mother won't be making them again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I used butter instead of margerine and I doubled the chips called for. Because I wanted a less cakey cooky, I used baking SODA instead of powder. I agree with another reviewer that the uncooked dough was really fantastic but when you cook it, it dosen't taste as good. Sounds bizarre but it's true. This makes a ton, way more than 12 servings, unless each person has four or five cookies. 375* for ten minutes was just right. This would be GREAT with white chocolate chips and craisins. NOTE: I did use fat free cream cheese but I think that was kind of like putting the cart before the horse, if you really think about it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: ONIOND
These are awesome. Really rich and tasty. I'm glad I went to the store to get milk chocolate chips, though; semi-sweet would probably not have been as good. I flattened them a little before baking, and yes they do hold their exact shape! Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: C161
These cookies were a hit at my party! Though after i realized I forgot to add the brown sugar!!! But they still tasted GOOD! Without the brown sugar it tasted like cream cheese short bread cookies! they melt in your mouth!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: TARA9
The dough was really delicious but once baked, these cookies weren't that good. In fact, I would almost say they were gross.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Pam Ziegler Lutz
I have ALWAYS used the traditional Nestle Toll House cookie recipe, until now. This was proclaimed "Best Chocolate Chip Cookies Ever" by Hubby. A note: these are cakey cookiea, so if you're in the mood for traditional cookies, don't make these. They bake up high and are lighter in color. That said, these are wonderful and I will definitely make them often! Thanks for a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: RANMAWOMAN
These cookies are okay. They are EXTREMELY cakey. Cake like in the middle and crunchy on the outer rims. I followed the recipe 100% and couldn't really taste the cream cheese. They don't spread either, so I ended up with many little mountains! I think these might be better off called "cream cheese chocolate chip bars"! Thanks for the recipe though!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: juststardust
Very good chocolate chip cookie recipe! I used fat-free cream cheese, sugar free Hershey's chocolate chips, Splenda instead of white sugar, and margarine instead of butter; substitutions worked great! One note: they bake in whatever shape they're placed on the sheet, so if you want them rounder, pre-shape them a little before baking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: shareea
I made these for my Christmas baskets last year and they were a hit! I used real butter instead of margarine. You are not supposed to taste the cream cheese, it just makes them more fluffy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: tarads
I used real butter, and white chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet and these cookies were FANTASTIC!! Only had to bake it my oven 13 minutes and I did flatten the dough somewhat but these cookies did spread on their own as well. Easy to make and delicious!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes