My Reviews (53)

Cream Cheese Bread

The addition of cream cheese makes a nice rich bread. This is also a good base for making fruit bread or chocolate chip bread.
Reviews (53)


13 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: GRANNYLOOHOO
I adapted this recipe to the old-fashioned method of proofing the yeast and kneading. I added strawberries to the batter and made into 3-part rolls. I love the texture and flavor the cream cheese imparts. The fruit addition is a subtle, fragrant touch--and it makes a nice appearance. I only used 1/4 tsp of salt, because that amount of cream cheese has plenty of salt. I also prefer a slightly sweeter bread so I added additional sugar. I might not use quite as much cream cheese next time. I agree with Holly--a good base recipe and one I will definitely use again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: crazycatlady - "CCL"
Wonderful! I used this to make cinnamon/pecan rolls. I let the dough rise a little longer in the bread machine (it needed another 40 minutes) then I formed the dough & covered it with butter, pecan pieces and sugar & cinnamon. Rolled up and cut and put in buttered pan (large deep dish pizza pan) and let rise another 40 minutes & topped with a little more butter, pecans and sugar & cinnamon. Baked at 350 for about 30 minutes. Made an icing of 2 cups powdered sugar, splash of pure vanilla, about 3 TBSP. of melted butter and a 3-4 TBSP. of milk. My house smells heavenly! Thanks for sharing your recipe (this is a keeper) !!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Rose
This was quite good - I am addicted to my bread maker and love finding new recipes. I used fat-free cream cheese and no one would have ever guessed! Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: ANGELZTAM
I have to say I'm truly excited to find this recipe again. I made it when I first got my bread machine and fell in love with it. It's wonderful with blackberry jam, or just butter. I highly recommend you try it at least once. Thanks Allrecipes, I never thought I'd find this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Lansie
Excellent recipe. I warmed the milk then added the sugar and yeast and let that sit while I melted the butter (instead of margarine) and warmed the cream cheese and let the egg warm on the stove. Then I dumped the butter, cream cheese and egg on the yeast/milk mixture, added flour, then salt and let the bread machine work: White, 2 lbs, pounded down the bread a little after the 2nd rising. It smelled great when baking and rose very nice and fluffy. It's a cheese bread, so it's heavy but yummy. I think me and my bread machine are now best buds.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: Chris
I just took this one out of the bread machine and , boy does this bread smell heavenly. It also rises and shapes very nicely. I have had some awfully funny shaped breads come out of my machine, but this one looks perfect. Too bad I am giving this to my neighbor for Christmas. Sigh... This one WILL be made again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: VALLEE
The taste & texture reminds me of a danish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: KTASS
This was the perfect bread for my 1 year old - lots of milk, cheese and dairy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: Stephanie
gross
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: SCRAPBOOK ROSIE
Didn't like the crust and taste was not that much better with cream cheese. Probably will not make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes