My Reviews (47)

Cranberry Sauce Oat Squares

A very easy and delicious recipe to make - only five ingredients. Jellied cranberry sauce is sometimes used as a glaze for Christmas turkey.
Reviews (47)


30 Mar 2005
This is a good recipe with a few minor adjustments, reduce the butter to 1 1/2 sticks or 3/4 a cup, I reduced sugar to 1 2/3 cups and used only one cup brown and the rest white. I patted half of the crumb mixture on the bottom of a 13x9 pan, used my hands to "crumble" on the cranberry sauce (no need to spread really) evenly, and sprinkled on the rest of the oat mixture on top. I threw in some dried cranberries for texture with the jellied cranberry and topped the whole thing off with 1/2 a cup of chocolate chips. They were AWESOME! No eggs or milk so its great for restricted diets, next I will try it with even less sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: KARENMOONAH
I agree that these hold together MUCH better if you press half the oat mixture into the pan first, and put the cranberry in the middle. Very tasty. Scale to 2/3, and it fits very nicely into an 8 inch square pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: pomplemousse
As written, these are too sweet and full of butter! I read some of the reviews before making it, but its been a while . . . anyway, after it cooled off the butter reabsorbed but holy butter when I took it out of the oven! Good thing I don't need my cholesterol checked this week!. . . . seriously, they are good, but I would halve the butter and halve or 1/4 the sugar. You do not need that much! And thats why they only get 3 stars in my book. However, I did like how the sugar carmelized. Kinda nice and I've never had a cobbler/cookie do that. I made as written, although I toyed with making like cookies as others have. I used a 8x8 pan instead of 9x13 bc I like cobblers and cookies that way. I may make this again, but definitely not with that amount of butter or sugar!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: Terrance
This was a great find. I loved this back in the 50's but had never had anything like it since! The second time I made them, I layered the cranberry sauce into the center which eliminated the gooey bottom and improved the texture and "fingerability". Everyone that tried them wanted the recipe. I also added chopped walnuts, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Emily
Very good, but sticky! Beware... I would recommend using non-stick wax paper or non-stick aluminum foil to line to pan with because otherwise it is difficult to remove the pieces without them falling apart.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: Rebecca C.
I used this recipe to finish up some leftover cranberry sauce from Thanksgiving. (I made about a 1/2 portion of the recipe in a 8x8 glass baking dish.) It came out of the oven about an hour ago, and I've already sneaked 2 little squares! They taste good! I did the same process as many, split the crumbs to be half on the bottom, half on top. I probably would even put just a little more on the bottom, to give the squares a little more strength as you pick them up. I cut the butter down to a little more than half, and that worked out fine. I also added some dried cranberries to the cranberry sauce, and I'm glad I did. I wound up with a very thin layer of cranberry sauce when I spread it on, but it turned out to be more than enough. I wouldn't consider increasing the amount of sauce. So far they taste GREAT warm, but they need to cool some more before I officially cut them into squares. (edited to add: About half of them were stuck to the bottom of the pan, so I only got about 8 small squares and the rest was more "crumbly". Would line iwth aluminum foil next time.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: Jamie Otis-Wertz
I added 2 cans of cranberry, otherwise it was spread too thin in the pan. I brought them to a staff meeting - everyone thought they were great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: sarebear
My husband loves these! And he almost never likes a dessert made with fruit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: NICOLE4
If you like cranberry, this recipe is excellent. I added the two cans of cranberry (one jellied and one whole cranberries) and layered it between the oat mixure as suggested by other reviewers. This made a great tasting dish, but I would not advise using two cans of cranberry if you actually want bars that can be easily cut and handled. This method produces more of a cranberry crisp. It was very good with vanilla ice cream!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Daniel den Hoed
These were good and very easy to make. I put them together in only about 15 minutes. I used leftover cranberry sauce (2 cups) instead of a can of the stuff and used 1 1/2 stick of butter. I also put half the crumble on the bottom and half on top of the berries. I got a lot of compliments on this dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes