My Reviews (56)

Easy Cranberry Bars

This is an usual use for cranberry sauce - baked into delicious bars with cream cheese and rolled oats. Not at all hard to make.
Reviews (56)


06 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: KIMIRAEJ
This is absolutely decadent! I made a slight change after the first time I made the recipe. I wanted more cranberry sauce so I added a second can, doubled the corn starch, and omitted the brown sugar that was added to the cranberry sauce to make it a little more tart! But the basic recipe is incredible! I've taken it to 3 parties so far and it always gets gobbled up first and gets rave reviews! Thanks for my new favorite recipe!--Kim Johnston
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: GOURMETMOMMY
These are absolutely delicious! I didn't have any whole cranberry sauce, so I used a can of jellied cranberry sauce and omitted the corn starch. They were great! Reminds me of the raspberry cheese bars that I make. You could also use any flavor of jam or preserves without the corn starch and extra brown sugar..
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: VIXIERA
Needed more cranberries! It was good, but tasted more like a cheese cake with strudle on top. I would add another can of cranberry sauce as 1 only left blobs in the middle to mix in, not enough to make an actual layer. Very tasty way to use up left over cranberry sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: ATLMICHELLE
These are amazing. The only thing I changed is I made homemade cranberry sauce the night before and chilled it overnight. I added the cornstarch and brown sugar just before layering it ontop of the cream cheese layer. Awesome . . .absolutely awesome!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Renee
For the first time I made it very close to the original... I substituted orange juice for lemon (its all I had), added a little bit of cinnamon to the crumble, and did not put more sugar in the cranberry sauce, I also added an egg to the cream cheese filling (this helped it to set and give a richer flavor). To make this a 4-5 star for me and my family I'd double the cream cheese filling. My dh and I agreed there were enough cranberries, but there was too much crust and not enough cream cheese filling.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Tia the Baker
The filling for this recipe is exactly the same as for "Cranberry Crumb Pie" on this site. Simply excellent. I made my own sweetened condensed milk (blend together 1c. milk powder, 3 tbsp butter, 1/3 c. hot water, 2/3 c. sugar) and it still turned out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Crystal Dawn
I made these for Christmas and they turned out fantastic. I did double the cranberry sauce mixture like some had suggested, because I too like more of the tart/fruit flavor. Everyone raved about these, so I'm sure I'll be making again. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: mxmarg
Delightful! I followed KIMIRAEJ's suggestion and added a second can of cranberries, doubled the corn starch, and omitted the brown sugar that was to have been added to the berries. I was very pleased with the outcome. I didn't find them as tart (as I would've wished) but my husband felt there was a nice extra zing there! As per other reviewers I also made sure to let the cranberries "peek through" the oatmeal topping. Very pretty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Tracey B.
I took these bars to a school bake sale and everyone wanted the recipe. They don't look like anything special, but one bite will win you over! Next time, I'm going to leave less crumb mixture for the topping and see if the cranberry bubbles up through for a little more colour. These are divine!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: P Wynne
I can't beleive this recipe didn't get better reviews. I used huckleberries in place of cranberries. I imagine that blueberries are great too. But, this recipe with huckleberries is amazing. I can never seem to make enough of these. Thank-you so much for this recipe. It is definately a favorite.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes