My Reviews (150)

Colourful Crab Salad

This salad is very colourful and tasty. Pasta shells and imitation crab meat are dotted with a delicious blend of herbs, green capsicum, olives, radishes, tomato and celery. You can use real crab meat if you prefer.
Reviews (150)


06 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: OCEAN-DREAMER
I used fresh crab in this recipe. I omitted the olives and radishes, and used celery, whole grape tomatoes and green pepper. I also used green onion in place of the regular sweet or white onion. I made this for guests and it was a HUGE hit! I will definitely make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: COOKINMOMMY1
Very tasty and easy to put together. MUCH better the next day. As a matter of fact, I thought it was tasteless the first day and nearly threw it in the garbage! I was glad I didn't after pulling it out on day two and trying it again after the flavors had had a chance to blend. I used a larger package of imitation crab meat, green onions instead of white, omitted the tomato, subbed red bell pepper for radishes, and as another reviewer suggested, I used rice vinegar in place of the vinegar/lemon juice combo. I also added about a half tsp of sugar. Yummy on day two! Let it blend!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: FELECIA5
I took the suggestion of using rice vinegar instead of the lemon juice and white vinegar...red bell pepper instead of radishes and tomatoes...used helmans mayonaise... added some shrimp...used real crabmeat and sprinkled parmesean cheese on top it was a knock out at home and for the office gathering shared the recipe with four other people.....wonderful. I got one reply saying that she thought she was eating at a 5 star restaurant. excellent recipe..
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: Chrissy
This crab salad is wonderful! I did leave out the radishes, green pepper and the olives and opted for green onions instead of regular onions and also used shredded carrots. I also used a pinch of sugar instead of the sugar substitute. This was a hit with my family and a definite keeper! Thanks so much!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Mrs. Chef Esh
All I can say is WOW, this is a fantastic recipe! I did take some liberty; I omitted the radishes (seemed odd for this recipe) and added some chopped red pepper along with the green. I also threw in some chopped cooked shrimp, and used old bay instead of dill, and sugar instead of artificial. Don’t expect any leftovers if you take this to a picnic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Jenn
I doubled the recipe but maybe shouldn't have doubled the spices. Was way too much dill weed. BF didn't like it at all. I had to try and fix it up the next day because it was too powerful. Next time I will not double to the recipe, and put less dill weed and hope it turns out better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: Patsy
I think this is one of the best crab salads I have made, and my family agrees. I substituted carrots for radishes and used low fat mayo.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Seba
AMAZING! I didn’t have radish, celery, olives or dill weed and it STILL turned out great, so you can improvise if you don’t have everything at hand! As others said it was a great hit, and I'll definitely be doubling quantity next time! I halved the amount of onions though
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: whodouluv
This was the first recipe that my fiance and I cooked together and I'm glad I chose this one. All the different flavors combined are so yummy! I made a few changes as well. I used orange peppers instead of radishes, used halved grape tomatoes instead of a chopped up whole one (big difference I think), didn't use the lemon juice, used Campanelle pasta, used dill seed instead of weed, and added a couple extra plops of mayo. Oh - and used green onions instead of the sweet ones. I'm sure I'll be using this recipe for years to come. Happy eating!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: TBRDBOY
How simple, and delicious! I enjoyed making this as much as I enjoyed eating it! -- Seriously though, I was looking for a crab salad recipie and this one turned out great. As with most others, I too made some substitutions, Shredded carrots instead of radishes (adds nice orange color), home grown PEELED cherry tomatmoes, and I also added some green onion for color. GREAT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes