My Reviews (12)

Coffee Panna Cotta with Chocolate-Rum Sauce

This is an elegant dessert with flavours of rum, coffee and coconut, and quite easy to make. Panna cotta is sort of the Italian version of creme brulee.
Reviews (12)


11 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: jchirc1
I made this recipe twice and I thought the 2nd time was so much better and less bitter. I made the espresso - did not use espresso instant powder and mixed in 1 tablespoon of the espresso in the mixture. In addition, I cut back on the rum b/c I thought it made the custard a little too bitter. I used 1/8c of dark rum. I increased the coconut milk. I used 1 1/8c of coconut milk. Finally, I used Giaradelli bittersweet chocolate chip cookies for the chocolate glaze. Delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2008
Reviewed by: DiamondGirl amanecer
This is a delicious panna cotta but it turned out more coffee than coconut. The coconut flavor was very subtle, almost unnoticeable. So it would be better to use strong brewed coffee. And I suggest that you use light brown sugar, because dark sugar overwhelmed coconut flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Countess
This was my first attempt at panna cotta. It was a beautiful presentation, with a great combination of ingredients. It had a bit of a bitter aftertaste though. Maybe I'll leave the coffee out next time. :-) BTW, the chocolate sauce is fabulous for making hot cocoa!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: sarah&joe
This panna cotta is so great--the flavors of the coffee go so well with the bittersweet chocolate and rum. Plus it is so easy and a nice, lighter dessert when you are having a heavy dinner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: SUEHOWIE
Not bad, overly sweet and fairly rich. Agreed on the coconut milk. I might even leave the rum out next time if I try it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Jennifer
This is sooooo good. Just like something you'd get at an upscale restaurant. And so easy to make. I thought there was a lot of sauce, though. Enough for a whole other batch of panna cotta. Really rich & chocolaty. You don't really taste the coconut milk or the coffee. It just tastes really decadent. This would be great dessert for a dinner party. Guests will be really impressed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: AllieGeekPi
I made these for dessert. They were good but to me they weren't Panna cotta; the sour cream was just wrong in it. I could taste the sour cream distinctly. Real Panna cotta has a delicate cream flavor. Four stars because the sauce was fantastic. Thank you camila for the interesting recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: KarenZipdrive
I serve this on a mound of "soil" which consists of rough chopped oreo cookies (remove the white inner stuff before chopping) and a large Tbl. of finely ground coffee. Mix them together well, and they should resemble potting soil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Irene
I think that the rum flavour is too strong, and I couldn't taste the coconut milk at all. I would probably reduce the rum and compensate with more milk next time. However, the texture of this is lovely--smooth and light--even though I messed up at first and had to add more gelatin for it to set.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2017
Reviewed by: cltncook
When I found this recipe, I couldn't wait to make it. Based on others reviews about it being bitter, heavy sour cream taste, and the lack of coconut flavor I revised the recipe. The result was very good. except it still lacked coconut flavor. I think next time I'll use coconut extract instead of vanilla and use the whole can of coconut milk (1-2/3 c.). Here is what I did: 1 envelope of gelatin (.25 oz.), 2 Tbs. dark rum, 1-1/4 c. whipping cream, 1/2 c. dark brown sugar, 1/2 tsp. espresso powder, 1-1/3 c. coconut milk, 1 tsp. vanilla, 1/4 c. sour cream. Followed instructions to prepare. I halved the chocolate sauce recipe. and made it by putting the cream, corn syrup, and chocolate chips (2/3 c.) in a measuring cup and microwaved for 30 seconds. Stirred until blended and melted and then stirred in the rum. It was the perfect generous amount of sauce and especially delicious. Will add an additional Tbs. of corn syrup next time to prevent sauce from becoming hard. Will make this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes