My Reviews (50)

Grilled Scallops with Gruyere

This is a very elegant and easy dish for a dinner party. You can even make it ahead. If you can't find Gruyere, substitute another hard yellow cheese like Swiss.
Reviews (50)


27 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: LAURA B.
Okay, I've got this down now, I've made it a several times since my first review. Here are my changes...1/2 cup mayo, 1/2 cup light sour cream. I use Emmentaler swiss cheese melts very well and is cheaper than Gruyere. If I can't find button mushrooms I use regular sliced mushrooms. I add a little flour and water (before adding the scallops) to the sauce so it's not too runny. And very important...the bread crumbs. I use plain Panko (Japanese style) bread crumbs...so much better than the fine bread crumbs and I squeeze a little lemon juice into the melted butter and Panko crumbs. Let the casserole stand for a few minutes after removing from the oven to allow the sauce to thicken. Better than any restaurant!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Lupin Pooter
Took other reviewers' advice and used mostly thick cream with just a spoon or so of mayo to make up the quantity. Apart from that, followed recipe exactly and it was fabulously good. The other half practically burst into song and said it was the best Coquilles St Jacques he'd ever had. What we both loved about it was that the balance of the wine in the sauce was perfect - sometimes restaurants use so much it's overpowering. Will definitely make again. And again. And again. Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: Lou
Delicious! I followed the recipe the way it read the first time and modified it the next. It was unbelievably FANTASTIC this way: Bay scallops, 1/2 C. crumbled Ritz crackers and 1/3 C. Italian seasoned bread crumbs for the top, regular grated Swiss, cut the button mushrooms in 1/2 (instead of sliced ones), and cut down on the mayo slightly. Yum, yum, yum. 10 stars
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: SUE GORDON
My husband said this was the best Coquilles St. Jacques that he has ever had at home or in a fine restaurant. It is also the best I have ever made or eaten anywhere. Very rich and smooth with the wonderful nutiness of gruyere cheese. I plan to make this for dinner the next time I have good friends coming. Didn't rate it high for kids because of the onions and mushrooms. Kids don't know what's good. Sue
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: naples34102
Hubs made this for us tonite and he said unless you want this swimming in mayonnaise and cheese cut back....on EVERYTHING - except the scallops, of course. So a weak three stars as written. If he cut back on everything to get this to taste as awesome good as it did then I'd take his advice, especially since neither Gruyere nor scallops are cheap. Whatever he did this was beyond 5-star delicious and decadent. Prepared in porcelain shell dishes, this was impressive and elegant as well as lip-smacking good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: STEELE50
The mayo taste can be overpowering. I substitute half the mayonnaise with a heavy cream or cream cheese and it is delicious. We serve it often.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: BARBPL
I found the mayonnaise taste overwhelmed everything else in this recipe. Not something we will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: pavonee
My husband LOVED this,,,he thought it was restaurant material! Some changes I made though. I used 6 jumbo scallops (the bigger ones I halved) because I was afraid the smaller ones would overcook and get to rubbery. I seared them, then I used a splash of apple juice in place of wine, 1 tblspn of mayo ONLY, marble cheese (that is all I had) and some parmesean. Once that all blended together, turn off the heat, add the scallops and a splash of cream....maybe 2-3 tblspns. Amazing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: Alessandra Bogner
This was an awesome dish!! I made this for my Italian Christmas Eve Fish dinner and everyone loved it. I didn't add the mushrooms, because my uncle is allergic and I used bay scallops instead of the sea scallops. It was perfect. Thanks!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: EMMAJEAN
These were very good. I have a hard time finding recipes both my husband and I like, but we both really enjoyed this one. I couldn't find the cheese that was called for so I used baby swiss - YUMMY!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes