My Reviews (64)

Chicken Thigh Casserole

This is a great chicken thigh casserole that I made to replicate the famous French 'Coq Au Vin'. It features a rich red wine sauce with cream and Gruyere cheese.
Reviews (64)


19 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: WorkAndPlay
When I decided to try this recipe I already knew that it wasn't " coq au vin" - cream and cheese and tomatoes do not belong in that dish. But it looked interesting enough, so I gave it a go. Sadly, it just doesn't stand up to the classic. I missed the celery, the tomatoes did not add much, and I did not enjoy the combination of the cheese with the chicken. I think I will stick with a more traditional recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Christina DiBlase
I sort of knew all along that this receipe was going to be really good. I got a bit confused which the receipe called for chopped onion and stated to place the sliced onion on the top. Nonetheless, I jump right over that insignificant hurdle and made it to the finish line. I added the reserve liquid that the receipe wanted to split away in the very begining because I don't believe in wasting something so good tasting. I am serving mashed potatoes and glazed carrots. This receipe is a WINNER!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: SADY187
Very, very good! A lot of steps, but well worth it. My house smelled like an expensive French restaurant, and the meal tasted like it. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Laura Sewall Bossart
Delicious, and not that difficult to make. I did cook the onions with the mushrooms, though, and then added them both to the chicken. This is very rich, so I served with butter & parsley egg noodles and a salad. I took half of the dish to a friend and got rave reviews!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: TJ
I left out the heavy cream and cheese based on some other reviews and more traditional coq au vin recipes. I also dredged the chicken in flour, salt and pepper. The end result was AMAZING! I only give 4 stars instead of 5 because I think the cream and cheese actually take away from the recipe rather than adding to it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2006
Reviewed by: cakesnthings
This recipe was so delicious. I have never made chicken thighs this good. It takes some time to cook but it is well worth the wait. I served it along side mashed potatoes and asparagus as suggested. I think it would also go great with some pasta. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: IM14FUN
In our new home in France, I wanted to serve last night's dinner guests a French meal and chose this recipe. Since the French traditionally marinate the chicken for 24 hours I did the same (in a 1/2 bottle of red wine, French herbs instead of Italian, garlic & minced onion). It was amazing. My English guests raved and had a second helping. The additional wine was needed for additional sauce to be sopped up with the fresh baguette I served with the meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 May 2006
Reviewed by: Brigitte
I used breast fillets instead of the thighs. This was a great tasting dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: TruthKid
I honestly didn't expect to like this. I can't stand mushrooms, but went by the book on this recipe anyway. My first bite I was completely shocked, the combination of flavors worked perfectly. The taste of mushroom blended right in, and even the mushrooms themselves weren't as foul tasting as I normally find them. I screwed up telling my daughter there were mushrooms in it, because she immediately stopped liking everything. I served with buttered noodles. I will definitely be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I did change this slightly to reflect a healthier/lighter diet. I used chicken breasts instead of chicken thighs and mine were big, so I tenderized them slightly and cut them into fourths. I used my own homemade italian seasoning. After I browned the chicken, I then browned the garlic (I did increase the garlic to 4 large cloves) with the onion and mushrooms before adding the wine and cream. I cut the cream down to 1/4 of a cup and I used fat free half-n-half. That was all it really needed just to give it that flavor without too much extra calories. I folded in the chopped tomatoes and let the sauce reduce over medium high heat for about 20 minutes before pouring it over the chicken, which condensed the flavor and eliminated the need for the cornstarch. I served this with Out of the Hat Rice and steamed veggies. There were no leftovers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes