My Reviews (170)

Cheesy Creamy Fish Bake

The delicate nature of fresh white fish is combined with a simple white sauce then baked with a layer of cheese on top.
Reviews (170)


07 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: TonyHarris
The Best fish bake I have tried. so easy @well done. Thank You
 
11 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: M. Stoffel
This was a really nice, homey dish for a cold night. I'm not sure it would still be traditional au Gratin, but I think next time I'll layer some cheese between the fish and sauce, for more melty goodness and less of a bubbly skin on top (which is still delicious, lol). While this recipe doesn't have the complexity and layers of flavor that other, more gourmet-types do with scores of herbs, peppers, etc., I feel it's really unfair for people to mark down this recipe and claim it's tasteless because of that. If you want to go ahead and doll the recipe up that's fine, but it's unfair to the submitter to dock stars or whatnot because of that. Thank you for sharing
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: MERLIN3370
This dish is simply awesome. I adjusted the seaoning a little based upon other reviews. For seasoning I used 1/4 tsp. black pepper, 1/4 tsp. garlic, 1/4 tsp. dry mustard and 1/2 tsp. salt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: Ruth
As a Newfoundlander, I have to say that this is definitely the best Cod Au Gratin recipe out there! My husband's grandmother makes a very similar dish, and the taste always reminds of home! A layer of buttered bread crumbs will provide a nice alternative or addition to the cheese. But this recipe is great without it. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: SHERRY6626
I agree with the other reviews. I used the recipe as is...except I added about 2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese. I layed the cheese alternatly with the fish. I also added some garlic powder and two tablesoons of dried parsley. My husband LOVED it. The kids (ages 2 & 3) also loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: caliboo
I took a few liberties with this recipe, but the end result was pretty good. I didn't boil the fish, but rather fried it in a pan to start. Since some of the other reviews said it was bland, I used olive oil and garlic to fry it, and added some allspice on the tops during the frying. Also, with the sauce, I added some cheese to give it a better taste, poured that over the fish, and used cheddar and a bit of swiss on the top, then put the whole thing in the broiler until the cheese browned. The results were pretty good, and I think I'd make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: Brenda
Had this last night - everyone really liked it. I followed a reviewer's suggestion to fry the fish in olive oil and garlic before putting in the pan, which put a nice flavor in it and then I topped with small amount of mozzarello and cheddar cheeses. However, I think the next time I make it I'll try putting the garlic (and possible some cayenne) into the sauce and boil the fish as per recipe to cut down on calories. I also think this would be good if topped with buttered bread crumbs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Space Cadet Annette
I really like this recipe - it is just the way my mother makes it as well (and I'm a Newfoundlandler so we know our Cod au Gratin). The only difference we have with our recipe is that we add bread crumbs to the top (this prevents the icky bubbly cheese crust and keeps the cheese gooey). I see that some people are calling this recipe "bland" but this is how it is traditionally done. Newfoundland food is mostly seasoned with salt and thats about it - not every region's food is hot and spicy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: dfwd
A perfect recipe.I make it exactly as was given. Last night I added buttered bread crumbs, it gave it a little crunch. A wonderful comfort food. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: GRACEBIRD
This is a great recipe! I usually add a half teaspoon of prepared mustard to the white sauce to give it a bit of a kick. My mother used to make a variation of this and cut up hard-boiled egg through the dish. It is nice served with rice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes