My Reviews (68)

Italian Herb Seasoning Blend

Better than already prepared seasonings because you can make it to your taste.
Reviews (68)


11 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: WENSMITH
Thanks so much for posting this! I had an empty container of storebrand IS, and I had all the individual spices, but didn't know the proportions to mix and refill it. My attempt has generated a few tips: 1. grind just the coarser spices first; my food processor was just flipping the rosemary around and the finer stuff created a cloud of dust. 2. Wait a while before opening your machine until the dust settles. 3. If you have a coffee grinder (I remembered later that I have one set aside for spices,) that is a better machine to use.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Ginger Lee
This is really good. I did mix and match this recipe w/ the Italian Seasoning I, since the only difference btwn the two seemed to be the red pepper flakes, the use of Savory, and the use of sage. I didn't have any Savory so I just added the sage (only 1tbsp) and the red pepper flakes Only problem was that it was too spicy for my daughter. So when I run out of what I made I will make it w/out the red pepper flakes and add it separately. I used this to make two items. The first was the fanned Potatoes recipe on this forum and the second was to make a spaghetti sauce. I've always made my own, but used the store bought seasoning and this is by far much better. My husband is not a huge Spaghetti sauce fan and he raved about it. Will continue to use this in all of my Italian cooking endeavors.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
Great italian seasoning mix. I add crushed red pepper flake to mine. I like to make big batches of this in a pint Ball jar. All I have to do is increase the serving size to 50, throw the seasonings in the Ball jar and slap a lid on it. Then I hand it to one of my kids to shake up. Way better than anything you can buy pre-made.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Sharon M.
So quick and easy, you'll never buy the prepackaged stuff again. You can also add any other ingredients you like - especially garlic powder. Very nice!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Ann
I don't recomend eating this alone, lol, not that I tried. It goes great in a lemon butter seasoned vegetable recipe on this site. Much better than buying the seasoning in a package. I like this one better than the other Italian seasoning found on the site since the other one has a few ingredients I rarely have
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Desert Daughter
For me personally, this was just okay. It had too much sage in it for MY tastes, so if you are not a sage lover cut down on the amount by at least half. Or even replace the sage with something you like more. That is just my personal taste opinion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 May 2012
Reviewed by: karataronno
I've been using this recipe for a few years now. I find that one batch yeild about 2/3 of my 125g bottle.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2012
Reviewed by: Denise Chelpka
Perfect combination of herbs and spices. I keep this on hand all the time. Great to add to olive oil along with some garlic powder, salt and fresh cracked pepper in which to dip hot bread served with a great Italian meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: GodivaGirl
this smells really good..I use italian seasoning a lot when cooking and am tired of buying the glass bottle grinders
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: IMVINTAGE
I didn't have quite enough sage (only had about a tsp) but I'll just add some when I get some more. I don't know that I could tell a difference between this & a name brand. I didn't want too fine a grind so I just crushed it all up a bit w/ a mortar & pestle. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes