My Reviews (66)

German Coconut Macaroons

Known as 'Kokosmakronen' this German style macaroon is similar to a coconut meringue biscuit with hints of cinnamon and almond.
Reviews (66)


19 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: maximilliane
Another way to bake them so thatthey stay soft and fluffy is to set the oven to 350 F and only bake the cookies for 5-6 minutes until they are slightly golden. They will still be a little bit sticky but that's ok They will loose their stickiness when they cool down.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
These are so good. I made them to use up 4 egg whites I had sitting in the fridge. Something went wrong, and they never really worked as a meringue, so I threw them out and started over with fresh ones. This recipe came together perfectly the second time. It was beautiful. I used unsweetened coconut, which was a wise choice. It would have been way too swee otherwise. I love the flavors of cinnamon and almond in here. The outside texture is a crisp meringue shell almost, and the inside is a chewy coconut macaroon. I love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: M. Bliss K.
I baked these @ 350 degrees until they were lightly browned on top and then let them cool all the way. I wanted them to be a bit chewy and it worked! I thought they were phenomenal. It is best if you make them as small as possible. A drizzle melted chocolate is nice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: tat
This recipe is excellent as is. Baking it at 350 for less time until golden resulted in sticky cookies that really couldn't be eaten while keeping your fingers clean. I put them in for 12 more minutes on 250, and they turned out great. Macaroons are supposed to be crunchy, anyways. The almond extract adds an excellent flavor, and the cinnamon doesn't distract from the coconut taste at all. Highly recommended.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: jen
After starting on the meringue portion of the recipe, I realized I only had 3/4 cup of flaked coconut!! I thought it would be a disaster, but I went ahead and tried to subsititute the remaining measurement with finely chopped almonds. I also didn't have almond extract so I used vanilla. And I had to adjust the cooking temp and times, probably because of my mistakes. Oh yeah, I also didn't have parchment paper so I used foil BUT...I was so pleasantly surprised that they actually came out GOOD! So, all this is to say that you can really botch up these cookies and they will still turn out! Next time, I'll try to make the cookies as directed and see what they're supposed to taste like, but just know that if you don't have the exact ingredients or measurements, they'll probably still come out ok!! Good luck!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: nancy
I was first scared to be the first one tried this recipe, but let me tell you it is so good, I did not toast the coconut as the recipe says, and did not add the cinnamon, so good,thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Kimber Mc
I followed the directions exactly, and these cookies were terribly sticky. Even after cooling, they were just a sticky mess.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Brandon Hersey
Made these since I had lots of leftover coconut from Coconut Cream Pie. I almost forgot about the toasted ones and was wondering why it wasn't a bit more.. thick. But that was my own fault. I'm working on a batch now, with one done and cooled. These are really, really good. Entire family likes them, even my brother who hates coconut.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: cmerun6
I made these for my husband and other coconut lovers . This recipe is very easy to follow. The comments I have received from everyone is that it's a very light and tasty macaroon. I strongly recommend this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: wchrist
This was pretty good!! Though it stuck to the wax paper, even though i oiled it. the cookies had a really nice coconut taste. i added some crushed walnuts and i think that made it taste even better. my grandma loved these, as she loves coconut. Ill make these again if i get ahold of cocnut, as they are yummy and healthy. =D
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes