My Reviews (83)

Coconut Crumbed Chicken

This is one of my favourite Chinese restaurant items and now I can make it at home. Chicken is marinated, crumbed then sauced with coconut.
Reviews (83)


Comment:
26 Jun 2012
JLWAPR said:
When reserving the remainder of the tinned coconut milk, make sure it is poured into a non-metallic container. I got severe food poisoning once from pineapple juice which had been left in a can in the fridge (unbeknown to me)! The same goes for all tinned products, once opened. Hope this recipe tastes as good as it sounds.
 
21 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Kristine Voykin
Wow.... I didn't have high hopes for this as most oven baked chicken fingers are just "so so", but these were fantastic! They had great flavor and the breading was nice and crispy. The sauce seemed like something my family wouldn't eat so I made my own: remaining 1/2 cup coconut milk (light), 1/4 cup water, juice from 1 lime, 2 tsp. soy sauce, 3 TBSP sugar and 3 TBSP corn starch. Whisk in a pot before putting on heat, bring to a boil and keep warm until served. My PICKY PICKY kids devoured this! Thanks!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Laura Wallace Neely
I marinated my boneless, skinless chicken breast for 12 hours in coconut milk, grated ginger, lemon zest, a bit of garlic and soy sauce. Other than that I followed the recipe and it was super moist, super delicious. Keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Glori Lynn
Love this chicken! I've made it 3 times now, and get great feedback from guests and family. Tonight I served it with white rice, stir fried broccoli and pineapple with a terryaki sauce. I also cheated and used 2 chicken gravy packets as a sauce instead of the suggested sauce. Thanks, katie!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2012
Reviewed by: Jonah's Mom
I enjoyed the flavor of this, but using the directions listed, my chicken pieces did not get very crispy or brown in the oven. Some of them seemed a bit soggy. I like mine browner, so I might try coating them with some pan spray before baking next time. I didn't have coconut milk, so I used 3 T cream of coconut to 13 oz. h20. I will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: *~Lissa~*
This was interesting; I liked it but my husband seemed on the fence. I mixed some coconut milk with the egg for coating the chicken. I didn't make the coconut sauce, but instead mixed mayo, honey mustard and some cayenne together to make a sweet and tangy sauce. Served with mashed potatoes and broccoli.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: rn2you
Awesome recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Amy
Great recipe! I served it with steamed broccoli and a recipe for Pumpkin Cheddar Grits that I got from a local magazine. The Coconut Carrots from this site might be a good pairing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: Anel
This is a great recipe and even if you tweak or substitute things a little it is pretty reliable to turn out yummy! For example, I didn't have lime juice so I used lemon and my son eats GF so I used GF crumbs instead of panko and I combined all dry ingredients together, the GF flour, coconut and crumbs and the results were 5 start dining! As for the sauce, I took advise from others and tweaked it a bit to suit the taste of my family...i still used the mayo and coconut milk but I added soy sauce about a tsp and cayenne for spice. DELICIOUS chicken...my 8 and 2 year old devoured it, my daughter was on the fence (a little too different for her) and my hubby loved it and is having the left overs for lunch! I made it as chicken breasts and served it with side salads. Thanks for this awesome and unique recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2011
A little messy to make, but I have to say all three kids and a husband LOVED it. I did not make the sauce because of the mayo, and instead served it with Saucy Susan to dip. I made white rice and brocolli on the side. Cooked it at 375 for 12 mnutes as my chicken was cut thin. Very yummy, thanks for posting!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes