My Reviews (59)

Basic Cinnamon Cake

This is an old recipe from my mother that is easy to make and great to eat. I like to eat it while it is still warm.
Reviews (59)


25 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: LaramyC
I too grew up eating this, but as a breakfast treat. The recipe was passed on from my Grandmother to my mother, and on to me. It was one of my first baking experiences and now I am a professional Pastry Chef. My notes are simple.... for better flavor use either butter flavored shortening or replace some or all of the shortening with butter. Also I put cinnamon IN the cake batter instead of just on top. For the folks that didn't think it was exciting enough remember this is from the days of simplistic home baking. When mothers still cooked for the families everyday.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Jennifer
This was a great cake to make, very quick and easy. I followed earlier comments and used margarine instead of shortening, and I mixed in the cinnamon with the flour etc. I also modified the topping a bit, after spreading the margaine on top I sprinkled some powdered sugar on the top of the cake, rather than add 3/4 of a cup. It just sounded like too much sugar! My boyfriend enjoyed it, said "It's bang on!", and I agree. A good, traditional tasting cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: FAYESFANCYS
Excellent recipe! I made it just as it's written and I didn't think it made too much topping. You can control that anyway since you sift it on the cake at the end. The flavor reminded me of a homemade powdered sugar doughnut. You can tell this is an old-time recipe. Definitely a keeper for me!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Karen
This is a great recipe - the cake was very moist and delicious. I took the suggestions of another reviewer and added cinnamon to the batter and I replaced all of the shortening with butter. It came out great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: CookieWeasel
This is the same recipe that has been in my family since my great-grandmother's time (originally from C&H sugar box). My GGM made it as a Sunday night supper cake; this tradition was continued by my grandmother, then my aunt, and then myself. I love it just as-is and haven't changed a thing, although I must admit that the cinnamon-sugar topping called for is way more than you'll need for one cake-- a third of that will suffice. My GGM used to serve it with gingered pears spooned over the top. Tasty and traditional, a simple old-fashioned recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: TIGGYS_AKA
This cake is great! But when you make it you might want to dubble your recipe because it dosen't make very much. Also I thought the recomende amout of toping was to much, but it was one of the best cakes iv'e had.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Cammy K
Made this with butter vs shortening and 1 T. of cinnamon in the batter. Since I am high altitude > 5,000 feet, I reduced the baking powder by 1/8 teaspoon so that it would come out okay. I also used cake flour. Put about 1 1/2 teas of cinnamon in powdered sugar. I am diabetic so I do not eat sugar foods of any kind, but hubbie ate half at one sitting. He gave it the above rating.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Dana Gayle Cook
Loved this! I did cut back a little of the powdered sugar and added some cinnamon to the cake mixture, although I may add a little more cinnamon to it next time because my children like a little more cinnamon taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Gigner
I just made this cake for my husbands birthday. He LOVED it! I substituted applesauce for the shortening to help reduce the fat content and I doubled the recipe. (doubling the baking time) It turned out great! I was a little worried when I tasted the batter that it might be too sweet, but it was just right after baking. I didn't use all the 'topping', but put on enough to where the butter had stopped soaking through. (about half, I'm not big on powdered sugar, I also added more cinnamon to it.) This is a great simple cake to make. I know I'll be making it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Kerry Rodriguez
LOVED this recipe and I must say... I made this cake while listening to all three of my preschool girls whine about how they wanted a special snack -- and for some reason cinnamon was the requested spice?!? I live in Germany, although am an American, and there are NOT many cinnamon cake/roll recipes... I found this recipe just browsing "cinnamon" and thought I can do this. I doubled the recipe as some readers had said to do. I didn't let the butter and sugar cream together long enough and had a clump, so I added the vanilla and was as impatient as the girls and added the milk. Looked TERRIBLE... to try to get a decent batter I went ahead and added all the ingredients and left it on mix while I helped one of the girls get dressed. I came back to a gorgeous batter, but wondered if I "overmixed" it. I did add cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter and put the cake in the oven for 20 minutes as wasn't sure and took it out at 22 because I was scared of it getting too brown. I am thinking I underbaked it, but it was UH-MAZ-ING!!!!!!!!!! I think the cake was gone in 15 minutes flat and I don't mean cut up and on plates, I mean I couldn't cut it fast enough GONE in every tummy within arm's reach! My Turkish husband requested an encore... wow, YOU saved my DAY and I am indebted to you! Thank you for sharing such a fantastic recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes