My Reviews (85)

Italian Bread

Mixed in the bread machine, this easy yeast bread with olive oil and a dusting of polenta is baked on a pizza stone.
Reviews (85)


04 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: KANSPAT13
Here is a tip that I use when baking on a stone.I let bread rise on a piece of parchment paper on a cookie sheet,then just slide paper and bread onto stone and bake.It is so easy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: LemonLush
This bread came out beautifully, but I gave the recipe only 4 stars because, like the other reviewers, I found that it needed quite a bit more flour in order to be manageable. It was light, not dense, but that could be because I mixed it in my KitchenAid and then kneaded the bread by hand. I let the loaves rise on a sheet of parchament paper on the wood paddle that came with my pizza stone. Then I transfered paper and loaves to the stone, which made it extremely easy. I baked it for the lesser time and gave it an additional 5 minutes just before serving and the bread was heavenly. The aroma, texture and presentation was top-notch. The recipe calls for preheating your oven just after the first knead, but I think there was an error in the directions. You don't have to heat your oven until the second rising begins with your stone in the oven. I'll make this again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: LIBBY T.
This bread is the closest to real Italian bread I've found. After the egg, I dust flour over the tops of the loaves. If you like a crunchy crust try spritzing a little water in your oven a few times throughout the baking process.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: schottbert
Excellent recipe!! I have made 30-40 batches, using this recipe for Christmas gifts for neighbors and friends. If you have a Kitchen-Aid or similar bread capable mixer, double the recipe, and you will need to add a little more flour. The kids helped make snowflakes and Christmas trees. I now use this for my home made pizza crust. A pizza stone and Pizza peel are essential.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: CFLOWRY
This is a delicious bread. On my first attempt it stuck to the cutting board. It tasted good, but looked messed up. The next time I put parchment paper under the loaves so they would move easily to the stone. That worked wonderfully.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: MIATA9BLUE
Good basic Italian Bread recipe. Good texture and taste. I sprayed a bit of water in the oven, several times,as it was baking and gave it a nicer crust. I reccomend trying this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: Valerie Harlan
This recipe was GREAT. I did notice the dough was a little sticky while I was mixing it so I added another 1/4 cup flour and it turned out great. I didn't have any problem with it sticking. I'll have to make double the recipe next time. It wasn't enough for my family of 7. My five children all wanted seconds and thirds. Thanks for a Great and easy recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: VEGGIE39
What an easy and fabulous bread - it had a great crispy crust when I took it out of the oven, but it softened by the time it cooled - next time I'll spritz the water rather than just put water in the oven. My family all raved over it and my son wanted it the next night for dinner! Definitely worth making!! Thanks!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 May 2001
Reviewed by: HAIRBALL1993
The bread was delicious! I put the ingredients in the night before, and set the timer to have it ready when I woke up. Still bleary eyed, I separated the dough, let it rise, and put it into the oven. Yet the bread came out perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: THEOBALD
I really love this recipe, I love italian bread with a nice crust...this recipe does the trick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes