My Reviews (32)

Walnut Rocky Road

Rocky road is a great sweet treat that combines chocolate, marshmallows and nuts. This version uses coloured marshmallows and walnuts.
Reviews (32)


21 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: RobinC
I love making these cookies for Christmas but I found you HAVE to use MARGARINE instead of real butter. When I used real butter, I didn't get a creamy texture and the marshmallows were really hard to coat. I still haven't found an easy way to apply the coconut evenly but they're still fun to make and even better to eat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: loveygirls
I love these! My Mom has made this recipe every Christmas, and now I do too. They look pretty on a tray of assorted cookies. Something I do to make it easier to shape them into logs is to use empty aluminum foil boxes - the bigger size. I line the boxes with plastic wrap, sprinkle coconut on the wrap, then add the chocolate mixture. Sprinkle with additional coconut, close up the wrap and the box, put them in the fridge to cool, and you're ready to slice!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
These were so simple to fix and tasted pretty good too. They are very very sweet though. I used unsalted butter and regular milk chocolate chips. The chocolate took a long time to melt over low heat (about 18 minutes) but it also did not melt the marshmallows as I was afraid it would. I don't have a double boiler I just used the lowest heat setting and stirred it often. I left out the nuts due to possible allergies as these were for gift trays. I rolled the logs up in waxed paper and froze them overnight. They sliced easily the following morning straight from the freezer. Thanks for the great recipe. This was the first time I've ever made these and they were so easy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: br00klyn68
I tried this and I think the recipe needs to be a little more specific regarding what you do after you remove from heat. After following the directions, I read other recipes on this site for the same thing and it says to let cool. Then it goes on to say add marshmallows etc. So the marshmallows melted into the hot chocolate and the windows didn't look quite as they should. It also changed the taste
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: JENWHITT
This is an old recipe my mom used to make in the 70's. I melted the chocolate and butter carefully in the microwave (watched it closely) without any problems. I also recommend letting the chocolate cool a little before mixing the marshmallows in (maybe 5 minutes). I also added about 1/4 cup coconut into the mixture. The recommendation from a previous rating to put them into wax-paper lined empty foil boxes (or cling wrap boxes, etc) worked great. Also, I used semi-sweet chips and they were fine. And I omitted the nuts. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Aleaha Talaski
I love these cookies! So easy to make and they bring back many memories of my grandma making these for me aroung christmas time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: marymical
First of all, I LOVE church window cookies but there are a few problems with this particular recipe. 1) I have never come across a 16oz bag of chocolate chips, only 12 oz. And same for the marshmallows, they have always been 10 oz bags. 2) this recipe leaves a lot unexplained for the process of rolling the log. I also agree with another reviewer that margarine works much better than butter for this particular recipe, even though I am a huge advocate of using real butter otherwise. If you go with the 12 oz bag of chips, 10 of marshmallow and use margarine, this recipe will come out perfect. Just make sure you heat the chocolate and butter on a low setting so it doesn't burn, then it will harden and not mix well with the marshmallows.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: annakauz
We love these!! I use powdered sugar instead of coconut though. I just spread a little bit out on wax paper, wrap it tightly into a roll (well multiple rolls) freeze for 10 minutes, and rewrap with a little more sugar and finish freezing. I also don't use nuts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: Patricia Donato
I grew up with these cookies...my mom made them at Christmas time. Everyone needs to try these, they are easy to make and taste great. it's leaving out the part that you place about a cup or more of the mixture onto wax paper. mold it into logs and roll up the wax paper and just twist the ends of the paper to seal it shut or you can use twist ties.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: MyVintageMommy
Yummy, enjoyed by all!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes