My Reviews (9)

Buttermilk Chocolate Christmas Cake

This classic chocolate cake uses buttermilk for a delicious flavour. You can eat the cakes as they are, or fill them and ice them for a decadent treat.
Reviews (9)


20 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
Beautiful. Nothing at all to criticize on this one! Given that the batter looked a little questionable, almost curdled rather than velvety smooth, I had my doubts. I cut into the cupcakes I made from this batter with trepidation! But no worries, this cake is GOOD! Light, fluffy and soft, VERY moist and kind of a milk-chocolate color, it was a nice change from heavier, denser, darker chocolate cakes. Didn't change a thing and wouldn't in the future either. I frosted it with "Peanut Butter Frosting," also from this site and it was a beautiful combination, both in color and in taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I followed the recipe exact. I have to admit that I was quite worried that the cake was not going to be good because the batter looked........off. It was extremely thin, the color was odd and it just seemed as if I'd missed a step as I'd made the cake batter. As I pulled it out of the oven, it looked perfect! I frosted this cake with my own recipe for Chocolate Buttermilk Buttercream. I did not try this cake myself but my husband and kids raved about it all night last night. Just goes to show you, you never know how a recipe will turn out!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Baricat
This is originally from many of the Hershey's cookbooks, where it's known as "Hershey's Chocolate Town Special Cake." When you think of the chocolate cake from your childhood that your Grandma made, this is it. It's been my go-to chocolate cake recipe for many years, and never once did it fail to turn out and garner many compliments, as well as moans of near-ecstasy. From experience, I can tell you that both the taste and texture is slightly better when you use the actual buttermilk, as opposed to using fresh milk with added lemon juice or vinegar to sour it. But if that's all you have, rest assured it will still turn out very well - just a matter of tiny degrees, certainly not a deal breaker. It has a perfect chocolate flavor, and a moist, fine, velvety crumb. It stays moist for days, if kept covered (but it probably won't last long enough for you to put that to the test!) Frosted either with chocolate or vanilla buttercream (or even a whipped ganache,) this is a sure-fire winner that delivers dependably outstanding results.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: ilkaisha
Yes, I was in such a rush to make this cake, I broke the first rule of cooking: read all directions before starting to make the recipe. To my delight, even though I messed up, this cake came out wonderfully. So, if you sift the cocoa in with yout flour mixture, and you simply mix the shortening, hot water, sugar and vanilla - it won't look promising, but it will turn out. I can't wait to make this recipe the right way ext time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: KYLEGRAM
excellant. moist but not too heavy. nice with a cream cheese frosting
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 May 2013
Reviewed by: DebbieElliott
this has become my family's favorite! I have baked a couple for other people and everybody goes nuts for it!!!! I gently melt chocolate spread for the middle and top and serve with cream x
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
05 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: GRAMMA GORGEOUS
This is very similar to Hershey's Chocolatown Special Cake, however the flour, soda and salt measurements in this recipe are not the same. Hershey's calls for 2 1/4 cups of flour, 1 1/2 tsp. baking soda and 1/2 tsp. salt. Made according to Hershey's recipe and use real butter for the shortening and buttermilk not sour milk and it is fabulous. I use the buttercream icing and store the cake in the refrigerator. It is rich, chocolaty and delicious. I just bake in a 9x13 pan and it turns out fine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: RALWATTAR
ummm, sorry to say that this cake disappointed me. i've made plenty of chocolate cakes (many of them from this site) and this isn't a recipe that i'm going to keep. it lacks in chocolate flavor and if i hadn't topped it with chocolate ganche, my family wouldn't have eaten it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: Xtina
My biggest issue with the cake is that it felt too heavy. I think next time I'll include less butter and fatty foods. Otherwise, the cake was nice and spongy, It needed a sleek icing to top it off, but it tasted pretty good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes