My Reviews (115)

Moist Chocolate Zucchini Cake

A family favourite this chocolate cake recipe uses zucchini keeping it moist. There are a few other ingredients that make it special too like cinnamon, cloves and walnuts.
Reviews (115)


20 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: CABERNET99
I substituted SOUR CREAM for the SOUR MILK (same amount) ... came out fantastic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: ABIGAILG816
Great recipe!! Skipped out on the nuts, used buttermilk instead of the sour milk. ALso baked in 2 9x5 loaf pans. Tip: Grease pan(s) with butter/ shortening and then dust with cinnimon and sugar. Gives the crust a nice sweet flavor!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: LISA4SURE
great recipe. I mixed the chocolate chips and nuts into the batter with the zucchini also i am not a big fan of cloves so i only used about 1/4 tsp and I baked it in a bunt pan at 350 for 45 min. this is a very moist cake and the flavor is excellent not to sweet just right.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Karen
I cannot stop eating this. I have it straight from the freezer at least once a day. Did not have nuts, so I used all chocolate chips. Used applesauce instead of oil and can't imagine it being more moist than it is. I did add a rum glaze - 1 TBSP rum, 1 cup powdered sugar, 1-2 TBSP milk to desired consistency.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
Mmmm, this is great! I could hardly wait for it to finish baking before I had a piece. Love the chocolate chips and walnuts on the top. The only change I made was to substitute apple sauce for half of the butter and use a little less sugar. Love it! Great flavor and very moist.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: serena
tastes great! used buttermilk instead of sour milk and nutmeg instead of cloves (i didnt have any cloves) i thought it was a fine cake to serve my friends and family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: TLRINEY
You think you'll see it, taste it, smell it, feel it -- BUT YOU WON'T!! The zucchini disappears - and a warm, moist, delicious chocolate cake is left! Amazing! I didn't have any cloves - loved it anyway! (used a LOT more chips and substituted pecans for walnuts).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: banslug
This is one of the BEST chocolate cakes that I've tasted! It's moist, chocolately and just plain YUMMY! Everybody, even the KIDS, love this cake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: JennyS
My family adored this cake. I didn't have chocolate chips, nuts, or cloves in the house so I frosted with my own cream cheese frosting. Teenage sons couldn't believe there was vegetables in it. It is a heavier bread-like cake but that is what I love. The cinnamon adds a great touch, I also baked at 350 which is what I bake all my cakes at. Excellent!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2000
Reviewed by: EMERSON
MADE THIS FOR THE LAST PICNIC OF THE SEASON AND MY FAMILY WENT WILD OVER IT. VERY MOIST.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes