My Reviews (22)

Chocolate and Walnut Bars

This is an easy to make chocolate and walnut bar. A four and walnut base is covered with a chocolate vanilla topping.
Reviews (22)


31 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Frenchie
Made only the crust (with pecans rather than walnuts) and, after baking the crust as directed, topped with a traditional brownie mix. My Sunday school kids loved these "Butter Crust Brownies!" Used real butter for the crust and the aroma while the crust was baking was heavenly. I made a triple batch of the crust and pressed it into a pan that is larger than the usual 9 x 13. It's what I call a lasagne pan. The resulting crust was a nice foundation for a classic brownie. A little crunchy and a lot buttery! The perfect counterpoint to the Duncan Hines Chewy Fudge brownie mix. Needed something totally different to jazz up a brownie mix and just knew this addition would be a hit! A huge merci beaucoups to the person who developed/submitted the walnut bar recipe. He/she inspired me! God's blessings to all of you, Frenchie in the Beautiful Bluegrass
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: belle4397
Don't make these if you would rather not eat the whole pan at once, because you won't be able to stop yourself! They are SO GOOD!!!!! Don't worry if the batter doesn't mix perfectly (I had a lot of little bits of butter that wouldn't mix in). They will turn out very tasty anyways!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: melpy
I was skeptical while I was making these. The chocolate batter was runny and I didn't think it had set up well. Once they cooled a bit I stuck them in the fridge and I pressed a slivered almond on the top of each bar. They are quite small but so rich and delicious you wouldn't want them any bigger. Great flavor and so easy to make. This one a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: GodivaGirl
IMO, just an average bar. The chocolate part was very, very thin and runny before baking. Also watch the crust while baking, at 20 minutes mine was slightly overcooked. I didn't cut until the next morning (and it was difficult to cut) because the crust was hard, even after sitting for 15 minutes. I don't think I will make this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: bezick2
This was a really tasty and easy recipe. The walnut crust was delicious and not too sweet. The chocolate was soft and rich. The combination worked out really well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Tinky
I made these bars and took some to the office and some to my son's home. Everyone including me love them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: NYCAN
This was incredibly easy to make although I needed about 25-30 minutes in the oven for the chocolate to set fully. They are delicious straight from the fridge and VERY chocolatey!!!. I will definitely make them again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: kmelby
Hmmm, the topping is brownie-esque, the crust is great. i was hoping for more of a smooth, less cakey topping but nonetheless it is good. Instead of the powdered sugar I topped it with more chopped walnuts. Only gets 4 stars because it is not quite what I was hoping for.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2008
Reviewed by: Diabetic Diva
These are fabulous - like an English Toffee bar. I used Pecans instead of walnuts and substituted 1/4 cup wheat flour for the white. Yummy right from the oven.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Stevie Bowden
The crust was really good, but I expected much more chocolate. I would double the chocolate part in the same sized pan. The chocolate part was a little too moist (maybe because the last egg I cracked, two yolks fell out!), but I suggest maybe a little flour in there to make it more of a brownie consistency.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes