My Reviews (25)

Chocolate and Zucchini Sheet Cake with a Cream Cheese Swirl

This is a moist chocolate sheet cake that uses zucchini, there is then a cream cheese mixture added to create a swirl. Looks great, tastes great.
Reviews (25)


26 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: blkdimn
This made enough batter for a 13x9 and at least 12 cupcakes. Baked the cupcakes for 22 minutes and the 13x9 for ~55 minutes. I used only 2 cups of sugar and used 3/4 c. oil and 3/4 c. unsweetened applesauce. It was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2010
Very moist, zucchini is hardly detectable. The baking times is way off though. I used a 9x13x2 pan as recipe said but the cooking time was about 1 hr.. I believe if one used a jelly roll pan, then maybe it would bake in 30 min. Baking it longer made for a little bit of a cripsy crust which my husband really liked.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: breebebabe
I used this recipe for cupcakes, without the swirl and just frosted it with cream cheese frosting. I brought it to a work party and it was a huge hit! Everyone loved it and a few of my coworkers even took some home for their kids and husbands because they loved them so much. Made TONS of cupcakes and they were super duper moist! I saved this recipe and will for sure be using it many more times in the future!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: DLD
This cake is good as is and would also be fun to play with the ingredients. It was extremely moist. I cut the recipe down to 1/3 and it fit perfectly into an 8x8 pan. As other reviewers have noted, the baking time was very off. I cooked at 375 for 25 minutes then lowered the temperature to 350 and baked an additional 20 minutes. A minor change I made to the recipe was using half veggie oil and half applesauce instead of canola oil. I also used low-fat cream cheese. Neither change compromised the recipe whatsoever. It was good and I will probably be making this again with a bit of tweaking!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Sue
This cake was very moist. Cooking time was way off, it took an hour to bake
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Lilcat
Nice, moist cake brownie. Simple to do and it makes a big sheet, so it serves many. Good picnic recipe. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: LIZZYG2
Try using the macaroon (coconut) mixture from the Chocolate Macaroon Tunnel Cake elsewhere on this website, in place of the cream cheese in this recipe. Drop by heaping teaspoonsful over the cake and swirl lightly through batter for a fabulous variation!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Melissa S.
I made this for my son's 1st birthday party. Everyone loved it. Even those who normally hate zucchini gobbled it up-and then had seconds! I made a small cake for my son (to destroy) and if I hadn't, the 9x13" pan would probably have overflowed while baking. They also took about an hour to bake. The only other alteration I made was to replace the milk chocolate chips with white chocolate chips. I will definitely use this recipe again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: blcksheep
Definitely too much batter for one 9x13 pan. I also would make a dozen cupcakes with part of the batter. Baking time is closer to 45 to 50 minutes if you put all the batter in the cake pan. Otherwise a very good recipe. I topped it with white chocolate and semisweet chips, coconut and pecans and it was delicious. Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: lanelle
Fantastic, very moist and not too sweet, but definitely bake for an hour, and it makes lots, I made a 9x13 pan and an 8x10 pan with one recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes