My Reviews (19)

Buttermilk Chocolate Cinnamon Cake

A very moist chocolate cake the flavour is enriched with a teaspoon of ground cinnamon and a touch of cloves.
Reviews (19)


26 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: worr
Someone requested a chocolate spice cake and this recipe was great. I added 2 tsp of choc cocoa and added a pinch of each nutmeg, cloves, and ginger.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: TENSMOM
This was a very moist spice cake, but I think its name is misleading -- it's not chocolaty at all. You could probably leave the shaved chocolate out of it altogether and it might not even make a difference! I used buttercream frosting, but didn't care for that -- I think I'd use choc. frosting next time just so the cake lived up to its name a bit more. I'm not saying it wasn't good -- my husband really liked it! But it waas a spice cake, not in any way a chocolate cake. So, just be warned.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: MATTHEW45
This is a great recipe, it produces a very moist and flavorful cake. I've made it twice. I followed the recipe exactly the first time and got good reviews. The second time I doubled the recipe, used a 50/50 ratio of cake flour/all purpose flour, added 1 cup chocolate chips, baked 2-8" layers, and frosted with vanilla buttercream icing. This produced even better results. Everybody that tried it loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: mmsparkle
Mmmm - double the chocolate, triple the spices, and this cake is Awesome! Especially good warm from the oven...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: AEENJOY
Excellent spice cake! I do agree with other reviewers that it isn't really chocolaty, but, still I thoght it was probably one of the best spice cakes I've ever tasted! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2001
Reviewed by: SIDHEWOLF
I prepared this as a test for Thanksgiving and was asked to bake several more times as well as asked to give out the recipe to my mom-in-law, who loves to bake. It was a big hit to large crowd of hungry (and picky) eaters!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: goldybakes
I loved this recipe. Usually when I bake with butter I can't achieve anything as moist as this. And the hint of chocolate from the chocolate shavings was a nice added touch to the flavor. I baked it in an 8-inch square glass pan so it needed 30 minutes instead of 20, but that was the only change I made. I would definitely make this again. Delicious and easy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Marilyn
I doubled the recipe and made two, 8-inch square cakes. I used 2.5 oz. chocolate (because that's all I had) for the double recipe, but I melted it first to help incorporate it into the batter. I thought the cake was the perfect balance between chocolate and spice. It doesn't need any frosting; it makes a good snack cake just the way it is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: 1HungryGirl10
this cake shouldn't be called chocolate or spice cake. it was moist but anything with eggs and butter usually is. i dressed it up with a cream cheese (hint of orange) frosting and was good but i wouldnt make it again. i'd make a real chocolate cake (oe spice) for that fact. i also added 3 tb. of cocoa powder but it still wasn't chocolatey enough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: ondreeyarh
the cake is perfectly moist, but my family and i found that chocolate doesn't really go with the spice in the cake. the spices overpower the chocolate. but i love the moisture, so i'm gonna replace the spices and put more chocolate instead.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes