My Reviews (15)

Chocolate Christmas Fruit Cake

Here's a Christmas fruit cake recipes which adds chocolate for an unusual twist. The apple sauce gives a nice moist texture reminiscent of a plum pudding.
Reviews (15)


15 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: Esmee Williams
Super moist and super delicious. I would recommend this recipe to anyone.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: NANBABY
I made this for a New Year's dinner party - it looked pretty made in a bundt pan , unmolded and dusted with powdered sugar. I also made a raspberry sauce and whipped cream to serve with it. This dessert is not very sweet - something I like but may disappoint some. You could compensate by making the raspberry sauce and/or the whipped cream sweeter than you normally would.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: CSANDST1
This was suprisingly good. I baked this in an 11x7 snowflake cake pan. It took close to 1 1/2 hours to cook through. The cake is sticky to the touch so be careful when transferring to a cake pan. I served with on Christmas with Brandy Butter found on this site.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2000
Reviewed by: Linda
Did this for a Christmas party I had with my friends last year. A guy friend liked it so much he thought my boyfriend was one lucky guy to have a girlfriend that churns out such nice food! Added some liquor to the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: rosichops
This was very good. Next I will add some chocolate chips to make it a bit more decadent. This a easy cake to make and is very moist, best of all everyone loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Deb
Loved it. This reminded me of a cake my grandmother would have baked. It was good the first day, but it got better over time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: SHABBA
Excellent! Odd ingredients but GREAT results. The final texture is moist and heavy-yum...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: tracy m.
I used 2 1/2 cups of pureed frozen plums soaked in 2 oz of spiced rum (instead of apple saucce & raisins). I did not have nutmeg, so I used ground ginger instead. Also omitted walnuts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: ABALONE25
Good with the brandy butter sauce, but not sweet enough to eat for dessert by itself.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Liz F.
Nice and moist like a steamed pudding without the steaming. This was hit at all of the holiday parties that I've been to so far this season. It goes well with hard sauce but is also good on its own.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes