My Reviews (21)

Chocolate and Orange Marble Cake

Orange and chocolate are always a great combination and this is no exception; chocolate and orange batters are marbled together in a ring shaped cake.
Reviews (21)


06 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: blooshoos65
Very moist and lovely orange flavour. Very easy and quick. I assumed it was 60g of dark chocolate. I thought the chocolate could have been a little stronger.
 
02 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: T. MARTIN
I give this recipe 2 stars because it is ture to the description that it is a moist and attractive cake. However that is the best I can say about this cake. If you are looking for a FLAVORLESS cake then you have found the perfect recipe. I"m not sure if there are mistakes in the recipe and semi-sweet chocolate should have been used as opposed to unsweetened. Also, even though I tripled the amount of orange zest used (I large, juicy navel oranges) the orange flavor was faint at best. The glaze gives this cake a special touch but cannot make up for the flavor that is seriously lacking. I agree that the combination of orange and chocolate marry well but in relation to this cake it was not a match made in heaven.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Lisa P
I made this cake in a bundt pan. Next time I would 1 1/2 x the recipe for a higher, fuller cake and cook longer. I substituted the plain yogurt with vanilla lowfat yogurt and for the liqueur I used about a teaspoon of orange extract and doubled the orange juice. Very flavorful cake, very moist.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Sally P
I loved this cake! I didn't have any unsweetened chocolate (not available here in Australia) so I used cocoa mixed with hot water. The cake turned out to be very moist, and absolutely chock full of flavour! A winner!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Tiffany
I made this for my son's birthday and it came out perfect and moist. I did make a few changes to increase the volume as wanted to cook the cake in a 10-inch Bundt pan.Here are the changes: 3 cups of flour, 2 cups of sugar, 4 eggs and 4 squares of chocolate instead of 2. These adjustments were enough to create a nice big fluffy cake in a 10-inch Bundt pan . Definitely a keeper!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: hemison
I love this cake - really moist and with one of my favourite flavour combinations. Because I dont' have a tube pan, I've been making it in 2 8" sandwich cake pans. Works beautifully and cooks in about 25 minutes. The first time I made it I topped one half with the topping suggested in the recipe, and left the other half plain for the kids. Have to say that I wasn't desperately fussed about the recipe topping - too sweet for me - much preferred it as a plain sponge as it has so much flavour on its own. The second time I made it I put the orange liqueur in the cake mix itself (and added more orange zest). Once it was cooked and cooled I sandwiched the two halves together with a whipped-cream/cocoa/orange extract/icing sugar cake filling; then sprinkled icing sugar and orange zest on the top. Got rave reviews! Since my husband doesn't like chocolate I'm going to try it next time using a coffee and almond/amaretto combination. A year later, and it's our staple base cake mix - I've made it lots of times as a coffee cake, mocha cake, chocolate cake, and got rave reviews for a lemon version with a lemon-creamcheese frosting found elsewhere on this site.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
13 Feb 2012
what an amazing cake cant wait to make it chocolate orangs is my husbands fave
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
18 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: helebean
I made this today using cocoa and water instead of the unsweetened chocolate. It was easy to bake and very attractive to look at....and my family loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Kristi
I made this cake without the orange zest and instead used 2 tablespoons of orange liqueur. I also used icing sugar instead of the regular sugar for the topping. This cake was so moist and the flavour was great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: EILISH40
Wonderful flavor and very moist. Please make exactly as directed. Chocolate and orange make good partners. Thanks for adding something worthwhile to my files.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes