My Reviews (94)

Chocolate Mocha Cake

This delicious chocolate mocha cake goes really well with a coffee icing and a drizzle of melted dark chocolate.
Reviews (94)


04 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
I cut a slice of this cake with the intention of photographing it, tasting it so I could review it, then giving the rest of it to Hubs for dessert, but it didn't work out that way. Hubs had roast chicken for supper and I had...cake. After one taste I just couldn't put the fork down and ended up cleaning the plate to the last "stick to your fork" crumb. After that I just had no desire for my chicken dinner! This cake is everything you'd want a good old-fashioned chocolate cake to be - fluffy, moist and chocolatey. It's just right in every way, just what you'd expect Grandma to put before you with a tall glass of milk. Easy to mix up and satisfyingly delicious, it just doesn't get any better than this. Very much like the "Black Magic Cake" from this site. Instead of the hot water and instant coffee powder I used a cup of strong brewed coffee. (A cup for me and a cup for the cake!). Other than that, I strictly followed the recipe. My 9" layers were done in 28 minutes so watch the time closely! My only criticism of this recipe is that I didn't find simply greasing the pans adequate - I had a little trouble getting the cakes to release from the pans so I'd suggest flouring them as well. I frosted the cake with "Coffee Butter Frosting" which proved to be a perfect choice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: cakebuilder
I added an extra 2 Tbsp of instant coffee (for a total of 3 Tbsp) since others had commented on the lack of coffee flavor and the flavor of the cake turned out great! The cake was a little chewy and dense for me, but others who ate it said that they loved it. I used stabilized whipped cream icing (the kind made with gelatin) and added a Tbsp of instant coffee granlues to the water/gelatin mixture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: SteveO
I have tried dozens of scratch cake recipes and this is simply the best I've tried. The cake is easy to prepare, the texture is moist and dense, it rises beautifully and has the perfect balance of sweetness. A truly supreme cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Maryam Bint Yahya
Really a great recipe. Very moist. I had no buttermilk or lemon juice or vinegar to sour the milk so I used 1/2 cup of plain yogurt and 1/2 whole milk. Worked great. I also did not have instant coffee (YUK!) So I made an extra strong cup in the press and used that. Came out just fine. Like others said, a very runny batter but do not let that scare you. Bakes up very nice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: AJMom
I have been making this cake for almost 4 years now! It always come out nicely and tastes delicious. I love the ease of the one bowl method. I'm a huge fan of anything mocha and haven't found a better recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: alarose
Doesn't taste much like Mocha, but it was a nice fudgy cake. VERY runny batter. Be sure to scrape the bottom of your mixer, the method of adding all dry and then all liquid tends to make the dry stuff stick onto the bottom. I was worried at runny batter but it was fine after baking. Iced with the coffee as recommended and served for Father's Day. Everyone loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: KitchenWitch
This cake is so delicious and moist, but I added WAY more instant coffee than called for and it added a barely-there mocha flavor. Iced with coffee frosting from this site, and it was amazing! 4 stars because I had to change the amounts of ingredients.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Tara
Very easy cake to make,moist and YUMMY! I added a bit more coffee to get the mocha flavor and a touch of cinnamon at the request of my 9 year old and this very quickly became her favorite cake.Thanks for a great recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: IrishMom Luvs2Bake
This is a delicious cake recipe. Moist and chocolatey and cooks up well for cupcakes and for cake. I used a Fudge Frosting and infused it with a slight cherry cream flavor. Nice combination.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: zoggle500
Delicious moist cake that is very very easy to make. Lovely with a simple coffee buttercream to ice and fill it. I have made this a few times and it has been perfect every time. Thanks for this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes