My Reviews (71)

Orange Biscotti dipped in Chocolate

These beautiful orange biscotti are dipped in chocolate to serve. I love the orange chocolate combination and often use them as a gift for friends.
Reviews (71)


05 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: ZeroCreature
This recipe would have gotten a much higher rating from me if it was accurate. It is clear, however, from the amount of flour, that it is not. One cup is barely enough to turn the one and a half eggs into a batter, much less a dough. I actually believe that this must be a typo, and that you need to use 2 cups. After adding an extra cup of flour, this recipe became a kneadable dough, and came out exactly as I would expect biscotti to come out, as a firm, dense cookie, and not-too-sweet taste. If I could, I'd mark four stars for taste, one star for inaccuracy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: RIVKI1
delicious biscotti! after reading all the reviews, i modified the recipe slightly. i added ~1/2 C more flour, a little more sugar and baking powder, 1 t orange extract, and 2 T oil. it was so easy to make- i can't wait to make it again! next time though, i'd make them a little smaller, so we get more cookies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: MAGGIE MCGUIRE
Outstanding Biscotti, Peg! The orange/chocolate combination makes a party for your tastebuds! I love this recipe. I didn't change a thing, followed your instructions to the letter and came out with perfect tasting and perfect looking cookies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: SOBERONE
The dough was way too wet to handle but I molded it into a log and baked it anyway. It turned out great! Next time I will add just a bit more orange zest. My fussy father couldn't get enough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: sarahbelum
Not bad. Though, a warning: if you're planning on doubling (or tripling) this recipe, you'll need to add more flour -- until the dough becomes easy to handle. I didn't have almonds, used white chocolate chunks. Very orange-y.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: STRLETT
everytime I make these, They turn out wonderfully! Don't over back the log in the oven for too long, or I find it will crumble easily when cut into pieces. But the taste is amazing. Instead of dipping one whole side in chocolate, I have dipped an end in chocolate too (so that when dunked in coffee or hot chocolate) it tastes wonderful!!! I have also drizzled the chocolate over one side to give it a "professional" look like the ones in the stores. Everytime I make these they go fast. They're perfect for bake sales, cookie exchanges, or just to have around the house with your cup-o-jo!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: Rachel Lehman
I was very pleased with these and they got good reviews from my friends. I did add 1/2 tsp of orange extract because I wanted to make sure you could taste the orange flavor, and it seemed just right. I also rolled them in sliced almonds after dipping them in chocolate for decoration.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Paula
Thanks for this great recipe. We like it best plain with just almonds and 1 tsp vanilla. The other change I made to the recipe is 1/2 tsp baking powder and no baking soda and it has a way better flavour. I also cut it thinner, about 1/2 inch slices on the diagonal. It lasts really well - I've even mailed it to my son in Serbia. He calls it "Mum's world famous biscotti."
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Joanne O.
These are so fragrant and delicious! They have become my most popular hostess gift/tea party contribution. A perfect match for a steaming cup of Original Good Earth tea on a chilly afternoon. I have added the zest of one lemon in place of some of the orange zest to give the flavor a little twist. A nice variation.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: Christina Bleeker
Although I haven't tried these biscotti myself (I haven't gotten any away from my husband), my husband and all of our friends rave about them and have asked for the recipes. I think these are really simple to make and I just buy the chocolate dipping mix from the baking aisle. Makes it really easy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes