My Reviews (389)

Chocolate Cobbler Cake

This is a rich chocolate cake that serves a bit like a cobbler or pudding. It is best served warm as a dessert with cream or ice cream.
Reviews (389)


02 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Irene
I didn't have self-rising flour, so I substituted with 1 cup of all-purpose flour and 1.5 teaspoons of baking powder. I didn't change anything else, and this dessert turned out very well. It is not too sweet or too decadent, but it satisfies a chocolate craving. I let it cool until it was just warm and the sauce was thickening, and then served it in bowls with scoops of vanilla ice cream. I will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: SJCOLS
This tasted delicious and was quick to prepare. My husband said "Oh boy, is this good!" The sauce thickens as it cools. If you don't have self-rising flour, use 1 cup flour with 1 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: AnnesGazFam
I've never heard of chocolate cobbler but I was in a last minute pinch for a dessert that was quick, easy and cheap. I skeptically threw this together with the following changes: made self rise flour with 1c. ap. flour, 1 1/2 tsp bkg pwdr, 1 tsp. salt. Used only 4 TBSP butter and about 1 1/4 C boiling water. Used heaping measurements for the Cocoa Powder. I also baked it in my 9x9 stoneware piece. This dessert completely exceeded my expectations. The cake-like part set up perfectly and the "sauce" was exactly like hot fudge - built right in there! I couldn't have been happier with the results and am thrilled to add this to my collection of sweet, simple - TOTALLY satisfying recipes. Anyone who's tried it with a result that didn't knock their socks off should try it again with some changes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Christine
I came online looking for a version of the chocolate cobbler called "Chocolate Stuff" served at Barbara Jean's restaurant on St. Simon's Island. Another review listed here said this was a very good version and I have to agree! It was a huge hit with everyone I served it to, both kids and adults. I served it with vanilla ice cream this time, I might try just fresh whipped cream next time around. I'm sure I'll make it again soon. I doubled the recipe and made it in a 9x13 pan with no problems.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Valerie Brunmeier
The measurements on this recipe are definitely off. Make sure you read the reviews before proceeding. I made as directed and while my kids enjoyed the flavor, the end result was a little on the greasy side and very runny. Next time I will cut the butter down to 4 Tbsp and increase the flour, sugar, cocoa powder,milk mixture (maybe even double it?). I think if you tweaked the measurements you could end up with something similar to a molten chocolate cake. It has potential but as written it's not right.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: JENROBBINS
I am known to change every recipe. This one I made it exactly how it was written. I thought it was FANTASTIC! Some people commented that is was too sweet....what??!! It's chocolate cobbler people. What do you expect? I thought it was perfect and I am not a huge chcolate fan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2008
Reviewed by: Sunflower in Kansas
This is one of the best chocolate desserts I have ever made. I really didn't let it cool enough before I tasted it, but I just couldn't wait! This recipe deserves a lot more than 5 stars because the taste is wonderful and it is so, so easy. This cobbler is rich and the right amount of rich. The sauce is a perfect smooth chocolate and is complemented by the cakey topping, which by itself is a treat. Chocolate cobbler is perfect for a chocolate fix. Thanks for a wonderful recipe I will make again and again! (Since I didn't have self-rising flour, I used 1 cup flour and added 1 tsp baking soda and 1/2 tsp salt).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: rodbev
I made this tonight for dessert. It looked like a big mess when I put it in the oven. It came out perfect. I used all purpuse flour, 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, and 1/2 teaspoon salt. That was the only modification to the recipe. It turned out wonderful. I topped it off with sliced strawberries instead of Ice Cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: CALLMETOPAZ
I just finished enjoying this warm, chocolatety, gooey, mouth-watering goodness and am in heaven. Thank goodness I'm not a celebrity because I wouldn't want any shots of me licking the bowl clean in the next gossip magazine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2008
Reviewed by: AuntieJ
This cobbler was really good, a big hit at our house! After reading the reviews about it being too sweet, I reduced the sugar amounts to 2/3 cup each (50/50 sugar and Splenda). The result was a lovely chocolatey pudding cake; I would have needed the extra sugar to get the "crunchy" cobbler effect. Regardless, we tucked into it and finished it off in two nights. For next time, I think I'll increase the topping sugar (to 3/4 cup) and add some instant coffee granules to the cake mixture to enhance the chocolate flavor. My partner said he thought it would be nice with dried currants or dried cherries, so I'll work that variation in, too. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes