My Reviews (58)

Pan Fried Roti Bread

Make your own delicious sweet and crisp flatbread the next time you serve an Indian meal! Roti are pan fried and super easy to make.
Reviews (58)


30 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: pieridae
Really good, and simple, since these ingredients are always on hand. Also can be made more or less sweet with the amount of sugar added. Requires some messy rolling, however.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Crystal
you need to sprinkle this with sugar at the end or it is just a tortilla. and dont roll them out thin, roll them out medium.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: 2Yung2Cook
i liked this a lot. its REALLY delicious if u use brown sugar, too- but keep it away frum the edges and really coat it in flour so the sugar doesnt burn. i rolled it in some cornmeal, also, for added flavor and crunch. after making the balls, i just made however many of the breads i wanted, then refridgerated the rest for when i wanted to make some. My only complaint is that it takes a lot of effort to roll it thin.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: SpiceBazaar
This was great! it reminded me of a flat version of pita bread. the only thing I would do different next time is add more sugar, and roll it paper thing before cooking it. I will be making it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Jordyn
I really liked this recipe. I used cinnamon and sugar to make this a great flat bread to put my favorite fruit pie filling on: Apple. These also go well with apple butter, peaches and just about any other fruit one can think of to make a quick, easy dessert.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: LILSPINSTER
I hate working with dough, but this is a REALLY simple recipe and I loved the sweetness of the bread. I used about a teaspoon of sugar or so with each golf-sized dough ball and these came out wonderful! I will definitely make again, maybe using some other spices too. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: bethwalden3
very good recipe. Tasted just like the Naan from the local "Shanti's" restaurant.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: sherisey
I made it a little thicker than called for. It was like a slightly sweet tortilla. Goes great with anything spicy. Very good recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: abby
This tasted awesome! I loved how I didn't need to go to the store to buy the ingredients as well!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
15 Sep 2008
WIFEAGE said:
Something else. This bread was very good, and I like the fact that I didn't have to make a special trip to the store to get the ingredients! I intend to serve this as an after school snack! I really enjoyed this recipe, once I made the following adjustments: I had to add a BIT more water (gradually) so that I could work with the dough. The recipe didn't specify to do so, but I did chill the dough prior to baking, with good results. Also, I added the "three sisters," cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves, to the sugar I put on the dough. I also doubled this recipe, and it was BARELY enough, everyone liked it so well! I followed the directions for rolling out and frying, but after about four of them, mine were too doughy, and I personally don't like oil, so I took the rest of the flattened balls (I rolled all of them and then flattened them all at once), laid them out and cut them into strips with a pizza cutter and baked at 170 until golden! Served with honey butter, and both blackberry and strawberry preserves (and vanilla ice cream), these went faster than I could bake them! The next time I make this recipe, I'm going to try baking small rounds of it over inverted ramikens to make little edible dessert bowls. Wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes