My Reviews (182)

Chocolate Chip Cookies, Gluten Free

Tasty chocolate chip cookies without eggs or gluten! These will remain fresh for up to a week in a air-tight container - if they last that long!
Reviews (182)


22 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: Roxi2002
This recipe is amazing I love the flavour the texture just everything about them I will be making these cookies again without fail. Thanks Barbara Arnold
 
11 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Jennvious
My kids and I loved them! You cannot tell the difference. We used 1/2 cup cornstarch, 1/2 cup brown rice flour and 1 1/4 cup white rice flour for the baking mixture. I used a real egg. I also added 1 tablespoon milk because they were thick and cooked 10 min. They were fabulous!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: aunt cracka
the picture of these cookies is kind of deceptive, i always do a tester cookie before dropping all the cookies on the sheet. when i did it spread about 8" in diameter and about 1/8" thick. . .not really a cookie. so i added almost 2 more cups of the gluten free baking mix before it was passable. but the taste was really incredible, definitely worth the extra time. i made them for a friend who can't have wheat. . but i think they may be better than regular chocolate chip cookies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: AggieFan92
Thank you for this recipe!! These were definitely the BEST gluten-free & egg-free cookie I have made. However I will make some changes next time I make them. First I will add probably a 1/2 to a full cup more of the baking mix (without doing this the cookies came out more like lace cookies) and I will either cut back on the salt or baking soda (they were a little salty for our taste.) I used gluten-free, dairy-free chips and cut the sugar back to 1 c. of brown sugar only. I think with more sugar they would've been WAY too sweet. My whole family loves them. The bigger the spoonful the better the cookie. **Since writing the previous rating, I have tinkered with this recipe and have come up with the following changes: add 1/2 c. Teff flour to the dry ingredients, use only 1/2 t. salt, 1/2 c. brown sugar and 1/4 c. white sugar. I use about 1/2 bag of "Enjoy Life" chocolate chips. I scoop out about a 2" ball and flatten it before baking. Super yummy!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: AMYINATLANTA
OK I read many many reviews on this recipe, since I've been on a quest for the perfect GF choc chip cookie recipe for a while now. The search is over- this recipe really is that much better than the others! The cookies are soft/chewy on the inside and crisp on the edges- seriously perfect, and I bake a LOT so I'm tough to please. Here's what I'd recommend on the tweaks, based on the other reviews and my experience: I cut the brown sugar by 1/4 cup, NOT the white sugar, since white sugar adds the crispiness. I think even with the full amount of sugar it would be fine. I used 1.5 eggs, although if you use 2 eggs just up the flour a bit more. I used 2 3/4 cup GF flour (used Bob's GF flour, which also requires 3/4 tsp xanthan gum be added). Cut the salt in half (1/2 tsp) or leave it out if your baking mix has salt in it. Definitely SIFT the dry ingredients as recommended since this makes the cookies softer and minimizes the graininess. If your cookies spread too much, add more flour to stiffen the dough. With the proportions above, I had a totally normal consistency dough. I dropped them onto the cookie sheet and pressed them a bit since the cookies didn't spread on their own. Finally, bake them til the edges/tips are slightly browned. This recipe makes a large-ish batch but I'm so glad I doubled it because these cookies ROCK!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2000
Reviewed by: CJ4
I love these cookies. My kid loved them. As a person who recently found out I can't have gluten, this is as good as any wheat filled treat. THANK YOU!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2006
Reviewed by: craftyc
Very good recipe. Just started to bake gluten and dairy free so this recipe was a good experiment. I modified it a bit - dairy free chips and added some xanthan gum. Also have no problems with eggs so did not use egg substitute, used 2 eggs. I used a combination of white rice flour, brown rice flour, potato starch and tapioca flour for the glutem-free baking mix. Thanks for the great recipe. It is fantastic not to miss out on the sweet treats.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: BRICCIOTTI
These are the best gluten free cookies ever. My friends can't tell the difference. I had a hard time not eating the whole batch myself! Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: MERJD42
These cookies tend to be dry and crumbly if you use "Egg Replacer" as the egg substitute. Instead of all the baking mix, try using 1/4-to-1/2 cup of potato starch to add more moisture to the dough ...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2006
Reviewed by: katobyron
Crispy on edges and soft and slightly chewy on inside partly due to the following modification: since dough was too crumbly with just egg substitute, I added 1 egg. Also I used 50/50 butter and Smart Balance margarine. I also added a cup of chopped walnuts. Yummy! I had to bag and freeze cookies in order to keep from eating too many.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes