My Reviews (16)

Indian Tamarind Sambar

Spicy yellow lentils combined with tamarind pulp, green capsicum, diced tomatoes and desiccated coconut. Spiced with coriander seeds, mustard seed and red chillies.
Reviews (16)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Something else. Better pre-soak the peas. They'll never get soft in just 15 minutes cooking (w/o pressure). Seasoning is a good combination.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
SUNBIRD said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I suggest adding 4 large tomatoes instead of 1 and halving the tamarind. If you don't mind the extra calories, a cup of coconut milk adds a delicious richness (don't use regular milk!). If using potatoes, prick them raw, dice into bite size pieces and cook them in the tamarind (or tomato) juice. Okra is GREAT in this recipe.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: RogueOnion
Very nice
 
26 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: fusionmealsrock
I suggest adding 4 large tomatoes instead of 1 and halving the tamarind. If you don't mind the extra calories, a cup of coconut milk adds a delicious richness (don't use regular milk!). If using potatoes, prick them raw, dice into bite size pieces and cook them in the tamarind (or tomato) juice. Okra is GREAT in this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: 2INCREDULOUS
Better pre-soak the peas. They'll never get soft in just 15 minutes cooking (w/o pressure). Seasoning is a good combination.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2011
Reviewed by: sasmama
1/2 cup tamarind is too much, must be a typo. Cut the tamarind at least in half depending on taste. other than that good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Tripti
Very nice
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: tchang36
This absolutely deserves negative stars. If you look at the recipe, it doesn't call for salt, sugar, or even enough water! That amount of tamarind paste is far too much. Good luck trying to balance the sourness of the tamarind with that amount. The recipe doesn't even call for garlic, onion, or curry leaves. I know everyone makes sambar their own way, but this recipe is not written correctly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes India)
04 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: gingerbadger
Just made this ... followed recipe to the letter, FAR too much tamarind - it is inedible. Avoid - or cut tamarind in half or more ...
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
21 Jan 2019
Reviewed by: David Afton
Very disappointed in this. I have had sambar many times over the years at various Indian restaurants, and this recipe was way off the mark. The tamarind was too strong, and gave the dish a strong, tangy flavor that was disagreeable. And the yellow lentils, while edible, were way too firm---and I even soaked them for a couple of hours first, and also cooked them 3X as long as the recipe called for. I could see maybe using an immersion blender on the lentils to puree them after they've been cooked. And in my experience, sambar is supposed to have slices of carrot, which this recipe did not have. I now have a pot of soup that I am not at all enthusiastic about finishing eating, and will probably toss out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes