My Reviews (71)

Chocolate and Apple Cake

The stewed apple in this chocolate cake creates a very moist crumb and a natural sweetness that makes this one of my favourite cakes.
Reviews (71)


18 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: JulieMorrisCollingwood
i doubled all the ingredients except the apple and made a massive tray bake.which all got devoured at the Steve parsons gig tonight.
 
07 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: GinaG
This is a great cake. I had only a bit over a cup of apple so used part milk and the apple taste was perfect, as was the texture. Also there was a whole lot of mixture so I used the cake tin specified and half a dozen muffins too. My family of four ate the whole lot in under two days. Try it for a pudding, just warm with a bit of cream.
 
06 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: JudyD
Just made this cake - it is quick and easy and tasts geat. Made for moning tea with friends - they all loved it. I had to make up the apple and thought it may have been a little warm when I added it - didn't matter, worked anyway. Cheers for the recipe.
 
19 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: karen57
just so scrummy
 
19 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: MAGGIE MCGUIRE
This cake is soooo moist and flavorful. I love the combination of cocoa and applesauce. Since one reviewer said it didn't have enough chocolate taste, I increased the cocoa to 1/4 cup and added 1t cinnamon to kick the chocolate flavor up another notch.This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing Karen.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: TTV78
I am stuffing my face with this moist, chocolaty goodness as I type this and I am in HEAVEN!! Doubled the cocoa powder as suggested & forgot the nuts, but kept the other quantities the same. Halved the recipe so that I could bake as cupcakes (350 for 20 minutes) and found that half the recipe makes 12 perfectly beautiful little gems. I had originally intended to dust them with powdered sugar after they cooled, but they're so gorgeous as they are that I am leaving them as is! Thanks so much for taming my chocolate craving! Will make this one again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Melle
This is such a simple recipe and sooo good. Everyone I know who's tasted it, loves it. But I do find it needs less sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Momster
I love this recipe. We live at 5000 feet and it turned out just right. It was moist and very chocolatey. It is very tasty with the 1/4 cup cocoa and I reduced sugar to 1 cup and used 1/4 cup liquid egg substitute in place of the eggs. I also input this recipe with my modifications into nutritiondata.com and it only has about 256 calories for 1/15 of the recipe. I will make it again when I need a chocolate fix or to take somewhere.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Hanny Manny
Very moist and chocolatey cake without the guilt! Okay maybe still a little guilt but less than you would have with a traditional chocolate cake. Too make it a little more "healthy" I used only 1 c. sugar, used half ap flour and half whole wheat, and didn't add the chocolate chips. I increased the cocoa powder to 1/4 c.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Caramela
Excellent! Used apple butter in place of apple sauce, mixed the chocolate chips inside the dough, and omitted the nuts! Took it to a party and everyone loved it! Thanks for the recipe. UPDATE: I also made this cake with pureed fresh pears in place of the apple sauce. It's officially my favorite cake so far and I will be making again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes