My Reviews (46)

Chocolate Angel Food Cake

Angel food cake just got better with the addition of chocolate. This recipe creates a very light and delicate chocolate cake that is best eaten the day it is cooked.
Reviews (46)


28 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: Melanie Wiens Craddock
Can I just say DELICIOUS?!?!?!?!?! I agree with the one reviewer who said this is the perfect chocolate flavor - not too sweet, not too bitter, and not at all 'fake' chocolate tasting. Perfect!!! Directions are very good, was very easy to prepare. After it was completely cooled, I dusted the top with powdered sugar, and served the cake with some fresh sliced strawberries. If you like the light texture of an angel food cake, and the flavor of a rich chocolate brownie, you will LOVE this dessert!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: CHYTIFO
This was my 1st attempt at a chocolate angel food & my 2nd attempt at any homemade angel food. It was scrumptious, light, & just right chocolatey. I didn't have any semi-sweet choc. squares so I ran 1/3 cup of choc. chips thru my Thunderstick Food Processor. I've made 2 angel foods so far w/my new Kitchen Aid & they're both WONDERFUL! THANKS!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: ALICATS
Very good and pretty simple. The instructions were very well thought out. I am going to make this again tonight. Mine turned a bit flat but I think my eggs were too old or I cooked it too long. I also used chips I just chopped them with a knife. I liked the little chocolate chunks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: FOOD4EVER
Oh My GOD!!!! I thought I was going to pass out from smelling it baking. It's awesome! I to added bittersweet chocolate, but in addition to the semi-sweet. I also grounded up some of the chocolate in my processor and sprinkled it on once it was cooled. I'll never make or eat regular angel food cake AGAIN! It just wouldn't be right.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: CHOCOLUV
what a wonderful light fluffy cake.my kids loved this one! I love to bake and this one will definately be made again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 May 2003
Reviewed by: TAURUSGIRL
This cake wasn't as good as I had hoped it would be from the other reviews. That didn't keep me from eating it all! It had a funky taste. (maybe the cocoa powder) I love angel food cake and I love chocolate - but this isn't something I can't wait to make again. I'll stick with regular angel food cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2002
Reviewed by: SINDREYF
Loved this nice light and moist cake. Especially good for dieters. Had this for my daughter's birthday and everyone loved it. Florence
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Heather C
This is my new signature recipe! Thanks!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: MORBIDIA
I loved this cake! I'm a picky eater. Its the best cake in the world, i will make it again someday!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: DARCY JURANEK
This is the first angel food cake that I have made and it turned out great. The directions were very easy to follow. I will make this recipe again for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes