My Reviews (28)

Marbled Chocolate Cheesecake

Almond flavoured cheesecake and chocolate flavoured cheesecake are swirled together to create a tasty marbled cheesecake.
Reviews (28)


17 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: EmCooks
Made this for Christmas Eve. Delicious and beautiful!! Make sure you bake cheesecake in a waterbath and after it bakes for indicated time, turn oven off and let cheesecake sit for an hour. This way it won't crack! Also, I added a teaspoon of almond extract to a cup of whipped cream and some powdered sugar and whipped for a VERY YUMMY whipped cream garnish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: OMOBELLE
I had never made a cheesecake before and this was SO easy and came out great both times I made it. My friends were incredibly impressed and amazed that it was my first. I cut back on the almond flavoring a bit the first time as previously suggested but think the amount called for in the recipe is better. I served it with fudge ice cream topping drizzed over it. YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: MBARTELS
this is a great cheesecake! I used only half the amount of almond extract and only half the sugar in the crust. it was great. I also didn't do the "marble" thing, I just mixed everything together and it was perfect. the best cheesecake ever.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: AJAYNE
I thought it had too much almond flavor, very overwhelming of the other flavors. I followed the recipe to a "T", and it still cracked. It is very rich! I would definitly recommend it, but go easy on the almond extract!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Hayley
Wonderful! Everyone raved about this dessert, especially the crust. The only thing that needed changing is the ratio of melted butter to the crust mixture. If you make the given amount of crust (3 cups of chocolate cookie crumbs, which yields a thicker crust) then you need a full cup of melted butter. If you make a thinner crust of 2 cups of chocolate crumbs, then a half cup should be fine. For the cookie crumbs, I used chocolate animal crackers, but realized after the fact that chocolate graham crackers would have worked great as well. I almost left out the almond pieces in the crust, but they were actually one of the complimented aspects. And for those who don't like nuts--you can't taste it at all. I did use the full teaspoon of almond extract, and although I could really taste it in the batter, didn't think it was too strong in the finished product. I definitely wouldn't use more, but don't feel that less is needed unless you hate the taste of almond. The marble effect turned out well even though the "swirling" method with a knife didn't work for me; I think this method will only work if you pour the smaller amount of chocolate batter on the crust first and then pour the remaining vanilla batter on top. Be sure to follow instructions with baking and cooling. I didn't refrigerate overnight (4 hours before serving was sufficient), but be sure the cake is at room temperature before chilling otherwise it might crack. This will surely be a hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: LONESTAR3
WONDERFUL RECIPE. I FIXED THIS WHEN WE HAD COMPANY, AND THEY ALL LOVED IT. IT IS BETTER AFTER IT SETS A DAY. THE ALMOND EXTRACT CALLED FOR IS JUST RIGHT.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: COOKINKIWI
Good and easy to make cheesecake. I didn't have chocolate cookies to make the crust so I used other cookies and added some cocoa. The taste wasn't quite as it should be but there's no way I'm docking a star for something I did to the recipe. I'll be making it again with the chocolate cookies. Served with whipped cream. By the way, I followed the baking instructions - i.e. leaving it in the closed oven for an hour after baking and - NO cracks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: mayura
This is a really great recipe. I changed the almond for vanilla though, and made mini cheesecakes with it. One fell into a container and broke, and since I didn't have the heart to waste food, I simply kept it in the container and put it in the fridge. The next day there was only 20% left. I overheard it was so yummy, my sis ate it anyway. (despite the not too appealing appearence!) As usual, I didn't add sugar to the base, since the graham cracker crumbs are sweet enough already.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: JonnyBGoode
A nice, creamy cheesecake. Not great flavor, but very good. Like most cooks I have a few suggestions. 1) Wrap the springform pan with foil! The crust calls for A LOT of butter - next time I'd use half - so a lot of oil seeped out during baking. 2) I used chocolate filled oreos for the crust, gave it a great flavor. 3) added a dash of vanilla, too, as well as a pinch of salt: I always feel that enhances a sweet dish. The baking times/methods were perfect, I just loosened the sides of the cake from the pan while it was still warm. No cracks (though , other than the initial presentation, I don't know what all the "crack-fuss" is about. So a cheesecake cracks, so what? It doesn't affect the taste one iota; and let's face it, after the first slice no one would notice anyway! All-in-all, a nice creamy texture and not too dense (like some recipes in this genre tend to be).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: suecaesar
delicious cheesecake...did have a strong almond flavour, but we all loved it. Baked in a water bath and turned out perfect. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes