My Reviews (30)

Stir Fried Prawns with Mushroom and Water Chestnuts

The prawns, mushrooms, water chestnuts and snow peas are combined with a slightly garlicky and spicy sauce.
Reviews (30)


01 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: LSBUI
Very tasty thanks for this one. My in-laws are from Vietnam so I have stiff competition when it comes to stir fries, but this recipe, won the family over and I plan to cook it again. I added a bell pepper and about 2 TBSP sugar to the sauce but otherwise changed nothing. Next time I will make more sauce because it was very good, and would be great over extra rice. Tips* to make the wok extra hot, and not to make the food soggy I stir fry all my stir fry dishes one part at a time. For example first fry up the peas, take them out and set aside, then do the mushrooms, continue until everything is complete, and then once everything is hot and crispy toss it in the wok or skillet with the sauce of your choice. I learned this from an Asian cooking show that was teaching how to make the best stir fry if you do not have a restaurant quality wok with a burning flame in your home. Since using this technique my food has improved greatly in this style of cooking. I hope it will work for you also.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Soup Loving Nicole
This was excellent! The only reason I am giving 4 instead of 5 is that is was SUPER spicy. Me and hubby really like the spice but it was almost too much for us which leads me to believe it would be WAY too hot for most people. Scale back on the heat and you have yourself a fabulous meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Saveur
WOW! If you are a garlic lover, a seafood lover, and like an asian inspired dish with some heat, STOP, you have found the perfect recipe! This was really delicious, I prepared exactly as written and just added some more veg, some shredded carrot and red pepper strips. Served over jasmine rice spiked with carrot and fine diced red peppers. Hubby raved over this. Thanks for a very delicious recipe, will keep this one in the rotation for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: cableguyxx
I used this recipe as a basis and then adjusted to my own taste. Here are my variations: Added 1 small sweet yellow onion Doubled sauce recipe(vinegar, chicken broth, sherry and fish sauce) Doubled corn starch/water Added 1 tsp sugar used and entire head of garlic(about 15 cloves) I prepped the ingredients first, then made the sauce. I halved the jumbo shrimp(Costco fresh shrimp are awesome) and soaked them in the sauce while I was cooking the veggies. I then added the shrimp and continued cooking for about a minute then added the sauce and finally the corn startch slurry. I served this over Jasmine Rice and it was incredible. Better than any Chinese restaraunt I've ever had it at. Kudos on this great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: 19190
WE loved this. I used onion,bell pepper and carrots as the only veggies. It was a very nice meal
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Jodi
I love this - I was truly crazy about it!! My DH liked it, and my step son did not (And i left out the red peppers in hopes that he'd like it - so next time I'll make it with the red pepper flakes too I used 1tbsp canola and 1tbsp sesame oil, yum! I didn't have fish sauce, so I used clam juice. Other than that I followed the recipe, well less garlic but will use a bit more next time too. Yum -thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2010
Reviewed by: GOLDENS
This was exceptionally good. I was surprised at the flavor. No soy sauce which is great. I had a little too much red pepper in it so will cut back the next time. A little too much heat for me. If you are using fish sauce, I don't think salt is needed, especially if you also use chicken stock or broth that is salted. I thought mine was quite salty. I also doubled the sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Kriston Scott
This is very tasty shrimp stir-fry recipe. I cut back on the garlic though, by only using 2 garlic cloves. 10 garlic cloves is way too much garlic for me! I served it over hot steamed rice, as suggested.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Sterling
Very flavorfull! For the garlic lover!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: kellieann
This was WAY too salty and spicy. If I make this again I will leave out the salt, black pepper, and red pepper. Why call it shrimp with garlic if you can't taste either one?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes