My Reviews (580)

Sirloin Beef and Capsicum Stir Fry

Very easy to make this is a great mid-week dinner that stir fries beef and capsicum in a simple sauce. Serve with rice or noodles.
Reviews (580)


01 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Escape
Made it without marinading...just threw everything together after browning the steak strips in the oil. I doubled all the other ingredients and completely forgot to add the tomatoes. (the main reason I chose this recipe) Still Delicious! Oh, I did use fresh ginger that I was trying to use up instead of ground.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 May 2010
Reviewed by: gapch1026
This recipe immediately went into my recipe box! Will definitely make it again. My dinner plans changed so the meat marinated for 24+ hours and was very delicious - I would recommend marinating at least a few hours or overnight. I only used red & yellow bell pepper and green onions because I had no fresh tomato. Added garlic and crushed red pepper for extra kick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: JosieBailey
This was the best pepper steak recipe I've tried! I gave 4 stars though because I added garlic and didn't use tomatoes, but that's just a personal preference for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: Zigster
This is great the way it is. I wish people would review the recipe not add there own sweet and sour version of it. Add a new recipe with your sweet and sour version. I think it inappropriate to add in the comments. Thanks for your original recipe Mrs Wilson.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Wiser1
This is a great base recipe. I had 1 1/2# of beef so I doubles the sauce, and I was glad I did to have plenty. I omitted tomatoes (didn't have any). Used fresh ginger.. the balance is pretty could in this recipe but at the end it needed a tweak. I added garlic.. 2 cloves... 2 tbls. of oyster sauce.. yumm.. would definitely use recipe again with these modifications.. thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Skinny4food
If my picky eater hubby loves this and swears by it, it's super tastey and super flavorlisious!!! (sp?? LOL) This will be dinner again, very soon, and quite often. Easy to make, simple ingredients, and loved by every bit!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: Spunky Buddy
Looking over the recipe I noticed I was to add a lot more sugar (sweetness) than I knew I’d like, so I reduced it significantly, probably by more than half. Also, I sliced the meat considerably thinner than the 1/2” the recipe directed. (Freezing the meat briefly, 20-30 minutes, makes this much easier. As for the preparation, I did that a little differently. I cooked the meat first, set it aside, and then cooked the onions and red, yellow and green peppers, combining it all at the end. I certainly didn’t want to take a chance of overcooking the meat. We did enjoy this, but I think it would benefit by the addition of garlic and, in my opinion, by the omission of the tomatoes. What I particularly liked about this dish was its flexibility (add or use any meat and stir-fry appropriate vegetables you like), the fact that we generally have the ingredients readily at hand to prepare it, and that it’s nutritionally sound.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Pamela
Great recipe. My husband likes pepper steak with sweet 'n sour sauce. I have an easy recipe or you can buy some pre-made at the store. 1 can-13 1/4oz pineapple chunks with syrup. 1/3 cup vinegar 1/2 cup packed brown sugar 1 Tblsp cornstarch 1 Tblsp soy sauce --------- Mix brown sugar and cornstarch in skillet. Stir in pineapple with syrup, vinegar and soy sauce. Heat to boiling stirring contantly. Reduce heat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Kenie
excellent!!!! my family loved it. did not used tomatoes
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: Holiday Baker
This is delicious! I had a few sirloin steaks and decided to try this. I trimmed off the fat and cut the pieces into thin 1" pieces, so they cooked in the 3 minutes or so suggested. I finally found the method to getting stir-fry to crisp, and not steam, by cooking 1 lb in 3 batches even if more will fit in the pan! I didn't have a green pepper, so I used an orange one with the red. I probably cut those a little smaller than suggested also as well as the onion. For the red onion, I just used a 1/2 of a large sweet yellow onion. I didn't have fresh tomatoes, so I used 1 can of diced tomatoes very well drained. This smelled so good while it was cooking. It doesn't make a lot of sauce, but it isn't loaded with oil like take-out stir-fry either which I liked. I used low-sodium soy sauce and it didn't seem to be a problem. I served it over brown rice, from the rice cooker. I would make this again. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes