My Reviews (56)

Fried Basil Chicken

A great way to serve chicken breasts - over rice with a fragrant herb sauce. Frying fresh basil in olive oil really brings out the flavour!
Reviews (56)


02 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Patricia
Amazing! Totally elegant in presentation and flavor they'll never guess how quick and simple it was to make. It makes the house smell wonderful too. I LOVE it with the basil. To avoid a "hay" taste be sure to fry the basil to BRIGHT GREEN and NOT DARK GREEN or Black! I'm updating because I have made this several times now and tonight the grocery store did not have any fresh basil. I bought a bag of prewashed baby spinach and fried it instead and then added 2 teaspoons of dried basil to the sauce as I was cooking it. It was just as good and the baby spinach is about half the price or less than the basil. Also definately don't try making this with anything but real grape tomatoes. Their sweet unique flavor is what really does it for this dish. AND COOKING WINE! My store was out of cooking wine and I tried using a medium dry white and YUCK!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: GIGI9801
DELICIOUS!! Restaurant quality dish! and I couldn't believe how incredibly easy!! The whole family LOVED this!! I used chicken thighs instead of breasts (we prefer dark meat)and followed the recipe exact. The chicken was super tender and full of flavor! As others said, the only problem is this doesn't call for enough rice. Double the rice to 2 cups, serve with some fresh steamed broccoli and you've got yourself an incredible meal!! This is a must try!! Thanks for the wonderful recipe Amanda!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: JUJUBI47
Great dish, the whole family enjoyed it. I thought it was a little sour for my taste, though, so if I did it again, I think I'd put a little less wine and vinegar, and perhaps some onions for some sweetness.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Caroline C
Apart from the extremely weird basil garnish - which does indeed have a distinctly grassy taste - this was a really tasty, really easy meal. I wasn't sure whether or not to keep the skin on the chicken, so I took the healthier option, and removed it. I was making 2 servings, but I used a whole can of low sodium, fat-free chicky broth, and simmered the breasts in it, turning them every 5 mins or so. I omitted the wine because I only had cheap plonk, and I know from experience that that sort of crappola adds nothing good to a dish. Great recipe. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: gracie
We love the flavour of fresh basil, but did not care for the flavour of the fried basil..it almost had a 'hay' taste to it?? Will make this again, but will not fry the basil, but will add at the end! Also felt like there was way too much broth.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Seabass450
OH MY!!! I'm a 25 year old guy who doesn't cook much and I managed to pull this one off!! It is absolutely to die for and easy to make!! Phenominal taste!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: SWALLOWTAIL
This was very good. I had a lot of fresh grape tomatoes from my garden that I used and it was excellent. I used boneless skinless chicken breast instead of chicken halves and it was super tender. I will definately make again and I am anxious to serve for company.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: TIADUCKETT
This was great! Chicken is best when it is simmered in liquid sauce becuase it will not dry out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: LEA6
This recipe was excellent. The fried Basil and balsamic vinegar gave the chicken a wonderful, unique flavor. I replaced some of the rice water with the extra chicken broth from the can and also added the extra Basil oil from the pan to keep it from sticking and give it a little extra flavor. I would suggest using more rice, as one cup didn’t make enough for everyone. I excluded the tomatoes because I didn’t have any on hand and didn’t miss them at all. The fried Basil made for a grand presentation. Rave reviews from everyone. Thanks for sharing your recipe Amanda. I’ll definitely be making this one again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: chuckles
I am always looking for something new and different to try out on my family! I have kids from age 2 to 14, so it can't be too fancy, or they'll complain! The consensus was "Make that again!" It went over very well. As another reviewer commented, the recipe needs more rice, but otherwise...a great recipe! VERY flavorful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes