My Reviews (37)

Dhal and Sweet Potato Soup

This is a tasty soup of dhal and sweet potatoes. Adjust the seasoning as you like with the chillies and garnish with your choice of fresh coriander or spring onions.
Reviews (37)


Comment:
23 Jan 2010
gvn said:
Used different ingredients. things I added: mustards seeds before onion. ground cumin, coriander, cinnamon and vege stock in with tomatoes, plus a little tomato paste. I also added a wedge of lime while it was simmering. Didn't bother mashing potatoes and lentils, just added them into the onion mix, then used the blender. I also added about 3 tblspn of orange juice which worked nicely. Served it with a dollop of yoghurt, cinnamon infused rice and roti.
 
23 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: gvn
I liked this (although did tweak it), and it was SO filling I couldn't finish my serving.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Used different ingredients. just so-so. i had to add a lot of other spices so it wasn't as bland.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
VOGTIE said:
Used different ingredients. I used a can of diced tomatoes with jalepeno chillis since I didn't have either ingredient and this worked out well. I also sauteed some garlic and ginger with the onions and added extra black and cayenne pepper. I blended all of the ingredients using an immersion blender (which is the best investment if you like to make soups and smoothies). Soup turned out wonderfully!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
LOSGARCIAS said:
Made it vegetarian. This one's definitely a keeper! I microwaved the sweet potato to save time and dishes and then just squeezed it out of its skin into the pot with the lentils before mashing. At the end I used vegetable stock instead of water (but only a little so that the dhal was very thick). I used LOTS of black pepper, and also some red capsicumflakes. The coriander leaves contribute a nice flavour.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Kelley
Though this takes several steps, the results are well worth it. We actually completed the recipe in less than an hour, and used a hand-blender instead of mashing the sweet potatoes & lentils. The flavours are perfect together-hearty, nutritious and spicy(but not too). One of the most delicious soups we have made from an allrecipes.com recipe. Thanks!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: DANAAMCMILLAN
This a spicy,filling soup.I blended the soup after cooking and used quite a lot of pepper.I live in England and several of my asian friends make an almost identical soup as an old Indian family recipe-very authentic. Great if you are on Weight Watchers as both lentils and sweet potatoes are 'free foods' if you are on the Core plan.
 
20 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: LATIMERT75
Though this takes several steps, the results are well worth it. We actually completed the recipe in less than an hour, and used a hand-blender instead of mashing the sweet potatoes & lentils. The flavors are perfect together-hearty, nutritious and spicy(but not too). One of the most delicious soups we have made from an allrecipes.com recipe. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Carma
I used a can of diced tomatoes with jalepeno peppers since I didn't have either ingredient and this worked out well. I also sauteed some garlic and ginger with the onions and added extra black and cayenne pepper. I blended all of the ingredients using an immersion blender (which is the best investment if you like to make soups and smoothies). Soup turned out wonderfully!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: sueb
The taste is great! I used yellow split peas for lack of yellow lentils, and that may be why I needed extra liquid in this! I'll be making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes