My Reviews (192)

Chicken with Mushroom Cream Sauce

This sauce is divine and elegant enough for a dinner party while being very simple to make. You may require less salt than is given.
Reviews (192)


25 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: chefjudge
This is an elegant and incredible recipe, the name "Chicken Monterey" does not do it justice. You have to make it right, if you don't follow the recipe don't complain. This is a classic french mushroom sauce and the flavors combine to make you nearly weep. I made this for a party I threw and didn't even try it till after the party because I had been cooking all day. When I popped a bite into my mouth I made noises that were, well, inappropriate. When you brown the chicken, do it in hot, almost browned butter to acheive the browning without overcooking the chicken. I think that may be where some people are complaining, they destroy the chicken before they ever put it in the oven. The sauce needs to be made exactly according to the directions. I will cherish this recipe in my files forever. -Oh yeah, I am going to try adding some diced green chiles next time, but only because I have followed the directions once already.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
Fortunately, my husband and I raised our children to at least "try" everything that's on their plates. To our delight they've developed very mature palates and I knew that this recipe,with all of the wonderful mushrooms would be an instant hit. Although I only made four chicken cutlets I kept the sauce amount the same and used about 4 ozs. of cheese. I didn't have any white wine on hand, however, I used a good hardy beer instead. If you're not a salt person, leave out the celery salt; it won't make a difference. This dish was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: DOREENBUCH
Thank you all for your great reviews....I agree w/ all of you that there needs to be more sauce, and I also double it when using breast halves and adapt as needed...more wine...less celery salt, etc - forgot to mention that in orig recipe, but as any good cook knows....you have to be able to adapt as needed to any recipe!!!! I love all the helpful hints that I get from the reviews of various recipes - I can tell who loves to cook and I am NEVER insulted when my recipes are critiqued! ALSO, try using chicken cutlets, as they are thinner and take less time to pan fry than regular breast halves - and I add Garlic Pepper to the flour to bread the chicken in b/c we love garlic, and I add about 3 cloves of garlic, and pre cut mushrooms will cut down on your prep time. Sauce is probably enough if you use the cutlets, as opposed to the breast halves, and you can cut down on the baking time if using the cutlets. So glad that everyone has enjoyed this recipe, my best friend shared this recipe w/ me several years ago, and it has been a favorite around our dinner table!!!! Doreen
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 May 2005
Reviewed by: AXSTAR
This one is fantastic. My changes: no onions (yuck), used half pkg sliced mushrooms, only used 6 Tbsp butter, only used a sprinkle of salt and pepper (no fancy stuff), used more chicken broth instead of wine (didn't have it), used only 1 cup MJ cheese (misread recipe) and halved the chicken pieces (2 breasts, making 4 pieces). My husband and I melted into this.. next time will serve left over sauce with rice or egg noodles. I also soaked the breasts in garlic infused olive oil for a few hours before I started because I was worried they'd be dry like others have said. This was perfect. When you fry the chicken, do it over medium heat and just until the sides get pretty white -- I think actually browning them is what is causing the dryness. Don't worry, they'll cook all the way in the oven. This was perfect. Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: I'm nuts too...
I'm going to have to give this another shot, because I wasn't too impressed with it. The celery salt was very distinctive (and since I love it in bloody mary's I thought it would be good here as well- teehee) and it was very greasy. Next time I will take Linda Mclean's review advise. Thanks Doreen (& Linda too)!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: TDRINK
Wow, what a great recipe...the only thing I'd change would maybe be to make more of the sauce and add more white wine to thin it out a little. But wow, one of the best chicken recipes I have found. Tried this recipe out on my in-laws a couple weeks ago and they are still complementing me on it. A definite keeper in my recipe box!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
This would have been awesome EXCEPT it was much too salty. I will make this again but use less chicken stock, no salt (celery or otherwise) and maybe add some water so the sauce is not so thick. Thanks Doreen!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: DEBMILLIKAN
This recipe is the best chicken dish I've found on this site! Wonderful tasting sauce, moist and tender chicken. Yummmmmy!! I printed the recipe as is, but only used 4 ch. breasts (in essence, doubling the sauce), and used the sauce over rotini noodles. I also did not have wine, so I used more broth instead. Wonderful!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: a_cook
Good recipe. Made only 4 breasts instead of 8. Cut waaaay back on the butter (sauteed mushrooms & onions in chicken broth) & cheese; also added frozen spinach. Instead of frying floured breasts in butter then cooking in the oven, I dipped the breasts in seasoned bread crumbs & cooked at 350 for about 30 minutes. Good Monterey sauce though! Served over rice with green beans.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: JAZZY-GIRL
This is out of this world, our company cleaned up every tiny bit. We were saddened because we were hoping to have some left for our lunches the next day.Wonderful. wonderful. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes