My Reviews (910)

Chicken in a Creamy Basil Sauce

Chicken breasts are crumbed then fried before being removed from the pan to make way for the creamy sauce that includes basil and jarred pimento chillies.
Reviews (910)


20 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: REBECCA JO
This is wonderful! The sauce is divine! I would double the sauce so you have enough to drizzle on a side of pasta. I pounded the chicken breasts so they weren't so thick, used half & half to cut down on the fat (just let it cook a little longer so it thickens), and used seasoned bread crumbs for better flavor. Also added 2-3 garlic cloves to the sauce. I would stick with fresh basil for best flavor - it really does make a difference. Scrumptious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 May 2009
Reviewed by: FAERIECHILDE
This was a very tasty recipe. I altered the sauce recipe slightly because I wanted to season a whole box of pasta with it. I used a whole 14oz can of chicken broth, 1 cup of Parmesan, 1/2 cup fresh basil, and I kept the cream the same at 1 cup. When I made this, I let the sauce boil for 5 minute or so, constantly stirring it so that it wouldn't burn, to thicken it up a bit. This made the perfect amount for an entire box of penne pasta without being too thick or too runny. It was incredibly tasty, and I'll definitely be making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: Deanna Passero Suppes
Me and my husband absolutely LOVED this recipé. We loved the cream sauce the best. My husband kept on raving about it and said to make it again very soon. I served this over egg noodles. I didn't have chicken on hand and used pork cutlets and it was just as delicious. I also added garlic and scallions to the pan while cooking the pork (chicken) and also added a clove of crushed garlic to the cream sauce. (I substituted light heavy cream instead of regular heavy cream which didn't seem to make any difference in taste at all). EXCELLENT !!!!!!!!! (it made me look like a chef in the making)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: naples34102
You don’t know me, but you’ve gotta believe me -this is good. I mean REAL good. I modified it a tad, starting with using the standard breading method of flour, egg and (seasoned) bread crumbs. I browned the chicken in a mixture of butter and olive oil to reduce the burning point temperature. Once I browned it thoroughly I cut into it and noticed it was still a little pink on the inside – no problem, I just threw it in a 325 degree oven while I prepared the sauce and cooked some pasta. While I only made two chicken breasts, I hated to waste the better portion of an 8 oz. carton of chicken broth and half a carton of cream, so I thought what the heck, I’ll use it all! I added the chicken broth to the pan first, reduced it drastically, then added the entire carton of cream and let it go until the sauce had reduced to a thick and velvety smoothness. I added the Parmesan and pimiento just before serving and topped the chicken with a basil chiffonade rather than stirring it into the sauce. The chicken was tender and moist, the coating dry, golden and crispy (rather than mushy and soggy), complemented by the luxurious, rich sauce. The pimiento was a nice touch, subtly enhancing the sauce. I’m glad I had the extra sauce - it was perfect for some nice pasta! Since this is a dinner a little on the rich side, I chose to serve it with just a few pattypan squash, lightly seasoned with butter, salt and pepper. At the risk of sounding corny, this was a GLORIOUS dinner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: zamgirl
I was out of chicken broth so I used white wine instead. Highly recommended!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: LNELSONINDY
Excellent recipe. I skipped the basil and pimiento, and added some red pepper. Also used 2% milk instead of heavy cream and thickened it with butter and flour. I will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: SHURMAY
Wonderful recipe! To save preparation time, I used a packaged "shake and bake" style coating mixture and baked the chicken, then served it with the cream sauce. I added a few mushrooms to the sauce and served pasta on the side. My husband and daughter loved the flavor. Next time I might add artichoke pieces as well. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
If I could give this recipe 10 stars, I would! Everyone loved this dish! The "sauce" is what takes ordinary fried chicken to the next level. Fine dining! I dipped the chicken in a beaten egg instead of milk and used 2 tsp of dried basil, which was perfect. I can't wait to make again!! Thank you Emily!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: SMLUCY
This is a great dish. I pounded the chicken breasts thin so they would not need to fry for long. I cut some fat out of the sauce by using 2% milk instead of heavy cream. To compensate for the loss in thickness, I started the sauce by melting some margarine and then mixing in some flour before slowly stirring in the broth and milk. Still a very tasty sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: Crystal S
This recipe is seriously crazy good! Couple of things I did differently: 1) Used flour, then egg, then seasoned panko crumbs with additional garlic, onion powder and Italian seasoning for my "breading". PLEASE NOTE: It is crucial to refrigerate your chicken for 30 minutes or so after you "dip" it so that the "breading" sticks properly while cooking. HINT ~ you may want to prepare the chicken in a combination of olive oil and butter as it has a lower burning point than straight butter. After cooking the chicken I put it in the oven at 250 to keep warm while preparing the sauce, which I doubled per other reviews and am so glad I did. Served with penne pasta to help soak up the wonderful sauce and fresh steamed broccoli to counter the richness of the dish but oh so delicious. Thank you for the submission Emily, I have added this to my recipe collection at my family's request, not that it was ever in doubt!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes