My Reviews (89)

Chicken with Squash and Zucchini

The yellow squash and green zucchini combine to create a colourful presentation and also taste great with the chicken breast.
Reviews (89)


13 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: jharris
This meal was extremely bland. Though healthy, it was lacking in flavor. I would suggest adding more tomatoes to add flavor and also, when sauteing the veges, add fresh garlic, onions, and additional seasonings (basil, oregano, etc.) This is a great idea for a meal, you just need to get creative with it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Doughgirl8
I don't really understand the "bland" comments. I think salt, pepper and a little fat (olive oil, butter) are all you need: chicken should taste like chicken, zucchini like zucchini. Hey, I'm all for bold flavors and spicy foods, but sometimes simple equals better. Treat your ingredients with care; don't overcook your chicken; season it well, and you have a fabulous meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: Heather and Adam
I made this for dinner; it was fast and yummy! I added some fresh sliced mushrooms, 1 tsp of minced garlic, and used a can of stewed tomatoes instead of the tomatoe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: stacykr
This was really delicious! Any changes made were because I wanted to add additional vegetables - not because of the recipe itself. I added onion, garlic, fresh mushrooms and a handful of fresh peas and Italian parsley. I really changed no seasonings. I did only use EVOO - no butter. One of the other reviews said, what's wrong with plain chicken - in this instance - nothing. This was a hit in our home.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Kelli J.
This is a really simple and delicious meal! I omitted the butter and vegetable oil and just used olive oil instead. Instead of the tomato, I substituted with a can of diced tomatoes. I cut the chicken into strips and then sauted with seasonings, and then added the canned tomatoes and squash/zucc and sauted all together. This was really yummy! I've made it a few times already!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Teresa Allred Hughes
Yummy! This was so easy to make, and my husband really liked it. I used up left over grilled chicken breast from the night before. For veggies I added: zucchini, mushrooms, green onions, and a tomato. For seasoning I added: salt, pepper, garlic powder, and a montreal steak seasoning that jumped out at me. Very good especially for low carb eating!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: CHRYS1
This was delicious. The second time I made it I added fresh green beans, as much squash as would fit in the skillet, and 3 tomatoes. Ground pork also works in this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Lane
I loved this. My brother and husband found it a little bland, though they liked it enough to eat it. I thought it had plenty of flavor and I will definitely make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2001
Reviewed by: MYSTIK
I tried this recipe due to the fact that it looked very straight forward and was healthy. It came out great and I had no troubles putting it all together as I am hopeless in the kitchen
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Warren & Mary Murray
Great recipe. I made a chicken rub from salt, pepper, cumin, and ground ginger. I also added onions, two cloves of garlic, yellow bell pepper, and fresh mushrooms to the veggies. I sprinkled with dried basil in addition to salt and pepper. No problem with blandness!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes